We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Army Reunion Week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Columbus Marriott to your Saves list
Columbus Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Front Avenue, Columbus, GA 31901-2749   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Army Reunion Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a great week at a wonderful hotel. The rooms are very spacious and the staff are courteous and helpful. The hotel was full with several groups there all week. But that did not stop the staff from being available for any assistance. This hotel's concierge room serves some of the best food we have found at any hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    82
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
64
69
16
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

While out and about taking in the sights, I decided to in for a refreshing beverage and relaxation. The lobby bar was well appointed with pleasant bar tenders making all the customers feel at home. The drinks were a little high, but the sit down and relax was priceless.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

There is nothing wrong with this hotel but I was expecting a little more given the external appearance of the building which has character. The room was a little small, I couldn't adjust the heating but other than that there were few other issues. Probably the better location for a stay in Columbus but there are surprisingly few good eateries/bars in walking distance. We ate at the hotel restaurant which was a Houlhans...again unusual for a Marriott to use a chain restaurant as it's main restaurant.
I would stay here again on my next trip to Columbus but this really is a generic average Marriott once you get past the exterior and quaint reception area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! It is well located to the downtown area in Columbus, GA. The main area was Broadway (Ave) where we are out. The hotel itself has great open areas, nice outdoor pool, a good gym and courteous
And helpful staff.
I loved it and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for my son's two day pass between Army basic training and infrantry training. The front desk and cleaning staff were very nice. The mini-fridge in our room froze up and broke and within minutes of me calling someone came to our room to replace it with a new one. The gym was clean but disappointing, but then I work out at a NYSC daily so rarely do I find any hotel gym acceptable. The pool looked really nice, but we didn't have time to use it. We ate at Houlihans twice and as someone else wrote, it did have a bit if a nasty smell to it but the service was great and so was the food. Very convenient having the restaurant in the hotel as the second time we ate there it was pouring rain out and didn't want to go out, otherwise we would have tried somewhere in town. My husband and I rented bikes one morning ($10 each all day) and rode along the riverwalk, very nice! I got a flat from a slow leak when we were still a few miles from town and weren't walking a half mile when a friendly cycler happened to have an air pump in their car and helped us out. Whew! Had a fabulous steak dinner at Buckhead Bar & Grill, a bit pricey but LOVED it and the service was exceptional. We had a room with a view of that noisy train that comes through but thought it was really cool to see. I thought the beds and pillows were too soft. Unfortunately as of now this hotel is booked for the night before my son's turning blue ceremony next month so we are planning on staying at the Courtyard Marriott of Columbus near the airport, hopefully we will enjoy another great Marriott stay - we will be checking for cancellations for this location though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed in.Staff was, outstanding.Staff in concierge were the best I have ever had the pleasure to encounter with.everyone was very nice and helpfully.i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from room next to concierge u will be up at 6 am due to the am set up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is more of a hotel for business travelers than tourists, although it's located adjacent to the Columbus Historic District. It is comfortably appointed with good sized rooms with ensuite facilities, free wi-fi and a coffee maker. The hotel also has a small swimming pool and fitness room with 6 cardio machines and some dumbells. The restaurant is more of a 'bar diner' as it shares the room with the bar, but the menu is varied and the meals were tasty, if a little expensive and over-priced.
Unfortunately a train passes through Columbus and within 100 meters of the hotel at 1 am whilst blowing its extremely loud horn to warn motorists crossing the tracks, which also wakes everybody up who may be sleeping!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbus Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Marriott

Address: 800 Front Avenue, Columbus, GA 31901-2749
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#11 Family Hotel in Columbus
#14 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbus Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbus Georgia's Premier Hotel. Conveniently near Columbus State University, RiverCenter for the Performing Arts, Springer Opera House, Coca Cola Space Science Center, the beautiful Riverwalk and in the heartbeat of Columbus' entertainment district. If the walls could talk..the Historic Columbus Marriott's walls could tell a colorful history. The 177-room hotel is built around a restored cotton mill that began operations in 1861. The original brick was refurbished and converted into Columbus' convention hotel being directly across from the Trade Center. Now a national landmark, the hotel houses 2 two-story suites with loft bedrooms, 5 meeting rooms, the Grist Mill Coffee Shop and Houlihan's restaurant. The hotel is home to busy business travelers who enjoy first-class accommodations within a distinctive setting. With an unwavering commitment to providing excellent service, our talented staff continually strives to exceed your highest expectations with the very best in Southern Hospitality. Our exceptional service, beautifully appointed rooms, public areas and prime location have made the Marriott, Columbus' premier Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Columbus Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Marriott Hotel Columbus
Marriott Columbus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.