We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping and desperately needs attention” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Georgia Visitor Information Center - Columbus

Georgia Visitor Information Center - Columbus
1751 Williams Road, Columbus, GA 31904
706 649 7455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 43 things to do in Columbus
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Official source for information on everything there is to do and see around Georgia. Open 7 days a week.
LaGrange, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Slipping and desperately needs attention”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Over the years this was all but a required stop as it opens so many doors to West Georgia. The facility needs a lot of attention. Georgia has been strangling these facilities and it needs to decide whether or not its serious about managing these tourism offices for visitors as over the years the hours seem to get shorter when its open and the maintenance has just disappeared. The staff has always been great.

For those of us that travel with RV's and Campers it was an absolute stop coming and going in this region. The excellent sewer dump facility that compelled many of us to stop, visit , grab needed information has now been closed rendering this a wasted stop. We always stopped here for to use this station for our RV and to always gather travel and tourism info. Not anymore!

The facility here on I-185 and the facility at West Point on I-85 are emblems of poor planning at the state level in GA. These facilities should have at the most only been DOT rest stops. To address Georgia tourism needs for the region, only 1 facility is/was ever needed and it should have been/ should be at the intersection of I-185 and I-85 in Lagrange. This would have saved the State Tourism folks a boatload of money and captured many more travelers accessing Callaway Gardens/Warm Springs/ West Point Lake from the north. Could still be fixed but we suspect it won't be.

If you are traveling in an RV and expected to be able to stop, gather information , use the sanitary dump station, keep your foot on the gas and pass it on by.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiaVisitorInfo, New Media Specialist at Georgia Visitor Information Center - Columbus, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Georgia Visitor Information Center in Columbus. We appreciate your feedback, both positive and negative. We're sorry for the inconvenience you faced regarding dumping stations. The dumping stations are managed by the Georgia Department of Transportation. If you'd like to connect with them about these stations, please reach out to them at http://www.dot.ga.gov/Pages/default.aspx.

Best,

The Columbus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eufaula, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Keep the doors open!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Every Georgia Visitor Information Center that I visit is SUPERB! This one is no exception. The grounds are well-kept, clean and inviting. A nice place to stop, rest, and stretch your legs! The restrooms are always clean and neat. A wealth of information about attractions of all kinds is at your fingertips, and the friendly, knowledgeable staff members know exactly what you're looking for! I make it a point to sign the guest registry at every visit; I would hate for the doors to close on this valuable service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiaVisitorInfo, New Media Specialist at Georgia Visitor Information Center - Columbus, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Patricia,

Thank you so much for taking the time review the Georgia Visitor Information Center in Columbus! We're so happy to hear that you found our center pleasant, our staff helpful and our information useful. Please come visit us again real soon!

Best,

The Columbus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Georgia
2 reviews
“Splendidly Helpful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I are having a large number of out-of-town guests for our daughter's wedding. We went to get brochures for local attractions for our guests. The staff members were absolutely wonderful and did all they could to meet our requests. While we were there, we watched how the ladies welcomed and offered help to all who came in.
I can't imagine a warmer or more professional pair of staff members! They were the best!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiaVisitorInfo, New Media Specialist at Georgia Visitor Information Center - Columbus, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Richard,

We are so happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and our materials to be beneficial. We sincerely appreciate your kind review and hope you'll come see us again real soon. We hope the wedding was a huge hit and that all of your guests loved Georgia!

Best,

The Columbus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were passing through the area en route to Atlanta for a few days and it was a lovely place to stop off and let our two dogs have a walk and do what dogs do! It is in a lovely area and very tidy and welcoming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiaVisitorInfo, New Media Specialist at Georgia Visitor Information Center - Columbus, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Georgia Visitor Information Center in Columbus! We hope you'll come back and see us again real soon.

Best,

The Columbus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very helpful and organized!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The ladies at this visitor center were very friendly and gbe us lots of help with Atlanta brochures! Worth a stop off the interstate for sure

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgiaVisitorInfo, New Media Specialist at Georgia Visitor Information Center - Columbus, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Georgia Visitor Information Center in Columbus! We hope you'll come see us again real soon.

Best,

The Columbus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia Visitor Information Center - Columbus also viewed

 

Been to Georgia Visitor Information Center - Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgia Visitor Information Center - Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.