We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Museum

Columbus Museum
1251 Wynnton Road, Columbus, GA 31906
706.748.2562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 43 things to do in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The second largest art museum in Georgia offers room after room of fine and decorative American art, with a special emphasis on the Southeast and the Chattahoochee River Valley. With kids in tow, don't miss Transformations, the museum's interactive gallery where children can create their own masterpieces.
Eufaula, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It was a beautiful building but neither my son nor I cared for the art on display. It has been a while since I went, but I think there was a very small Children's area. My son was not impressed. One of the staff members was rude to me; we decided we would not go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Great Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This Museum belongs in a big city - we are so lucky!
Staff are professional and passionate!
Great place for kids to go in the summer - and evening!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Check out the Gardens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My friend and I had a few hours and wanted to catch the art showing at the museum. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the Azeleas were in bloom and the lushly landscaped gardens beside the museum were quite impressive. There were lots of hidden little nooks and private corners to sit and enjoy the afternoon and even a small waterfall/ grotto. Very peaceful.

We were so happy to find that there is NO CHARGE for this Columbus City Attraction which was chocked full of very interesting things to see and explore. Check out the local exhibit on the 'Chattahoochee River Legacy' as it has local artifacts and great Native American Pottery found in the regional area.

We will definitely be back soon!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Nice jewel; kids will love lower level”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Easy to find, good parking (free),and pleasant surprise. Schedule two hours and wander from exhibit room to exhibit room. In the lower level is a kids' delight, several areas of creative toys for preschoolers. Nice diversion on a rainy day, especially for young ones. Friendly, helpful staff; beautiful building. A true gem for the City of Columbus.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A fun time for the whole family. They offer changing venues and displays which can be fun for people of all ages. Worth a stop!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.