We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Rollins Way, Columbus, GA 31904   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    99
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
184
42
24
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The sheer fact is, this is a great hotel. Good, Free Breakfast, Manager special Monday-Weds (free food/dinner, soda/beer), comfortable beds, nice pool and hot tub area, morning newspapers waiting for you, and cardio workout facility. I stayed here for a week and a half and was very content. There was free wifi available, mine was kind of spotty at times, had some difficulties skyping the wife. This hotel is a solid choice.

Room Tip: back side has a good view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amish D, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear TMIL44,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate your feedback. I hope you have a wonderful week. I will have the internet signal checked and make sure all is good.Please come back and see us on your next trip to Columbus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great at getting the breakfast out early for our team to eat. We were short enough towels for 4 people in our room. But gave us more when we asked. Hotel clean and nice. Staff pleasant & accommodating .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amish D, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Amy B,
Thank you for the awesome review on our hotel. I really appreciate you taking the time out to do so. Given enough notice we will arrange an earlier breakfast times for groups staying with the Wingate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A good choice. It is about a 25 minute ride to Ft. Benning and an easy enough drive.This was our first time at any Wingate. We stayed for three nights in July. It is right next to another hotel and right near shopping plazas with grocery stores, restaurants, and all kinds of choices close by. It felt relatively safe as well. I had no problem finding it. It is right next to a car dealership, and my GPS found it easily.
The two queen bed sized room was generously sized and included a desk and chair and a chair with ottoman. The breakfast was pretty standard but great to be included. A lot like the ones I have had at Hampton Inns and Embassy Suites. But the service at it was great. When I commented that the decaf coffee urn had gone cold, the lady working there quickly made a new pot for me! The pool is small but has chairs and a fence so that people can sit outside without facing a parking lot. We were on the third floor in Room 328. I would not recommend that for two reasons. First, the room apparently is right in the center at the front of the hotel. At night they have a spotlight on their sign on top of the building and the spotlight is dead center into the room's window. They do have darkening room curtains, but it means you can never look out the window after dark. Secondly in that room at night it sometimes felt like we were on a ship or a train as apparently there is a generator or AC unit on the roof and it goes on and off at night (probably during the day too) and the vibration is felt in the hallway and the room. The first night was especially noticeable and it was hard to sleep. Since we had cashed in airline miles to use to get the room, and I guess it showed up at the front desk as though we had booked through Expedia, I suspected we were given a less than desirable room by the hotel. We were not there very much except to sleep as we were busy watching AIRBORNE school and graduation for our favorite US Army soldier. The noise and vibration was annoying and not for light sleepers, but the rest of the hotel was nice enough. It is close to the Columbus Airport, though we flew to Atlanta about an hour and a half away. National Infantry Museum by the Base is also an easy drive and worth going to! WiFi was a little spotty sometimes but was free in the room.

Room Tip: Room 328 has a lot of vibration and noise from the roof at night, a generator and AC. Also Room 328...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning

Address: 1711 Rollins Way, Columbus, GA 31904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Columbus
#8 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#9 Business Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Columbus Hotel Columbus
Wingate Hotel Columbus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.