We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not smell like wet dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus State University

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus State University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus State University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2919 Warm Springs Rd., Columbus, GA 31909   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 45 hotels in Columbus
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Does not smell like wet dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

If the trained dogs nose knows what new carpet smells like, Then thats a trained dog!!! Thats what you will get at this LQ, wonderful service, excellent housekeeping, NEW CARPET, which does tend to have its smell if anyone knows what BRAND NEW CARPET smells like. This Hotel is WONDERFUL!!! New up to date on everything and does not smell like dog urine. I have a pet and she is with me in my room and she didnt smell any other dogs in the room or her nose would have been glued to the floor. I live in hotels 300+ days a year due to my husbands job with NS Railroad, I leave truthful feedback!!! This hotel is EXCELLENT!!! Pets have their own spot to do in, and wonderful rooms.

  • Liked — Freindlinest of the crew
  • Disliked — not much grass
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    15
    13
    12
See reviews for
49
10
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

I travel a lot for business and usually stay at my location for about 2 weeks at a time. At first impression this hotel suited my needs and requirements. It didn't take me long to figure out what the awful smell was. The smell from the dogs was unbearable. It permeated through out the hotel. I will be traveling to that area again within the next month and will be looking for another hotel

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

This hotel has been renovated to reflect the new style of LaQuinta, and my family liked it. The furnishings were hip and trendy with wood laminate in the bathroom and entry as well as better than standard towels.

All common areas are nice and well-kept. The pool area is well-maintained and large. The staff is friendly.

The only blemish would be its location accross from a seedy package store and next door to a Super 8. However, the location is very convenient to the Interstate, nice mall and many restaurants.

  • Liked — decor of room
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

This establishment was absolutely perfect for our trip to Georgia for my nephews graduation. The Staff are very, VERY helpful and polite, the rooms are very clean, quiet at night (no barking dogs and good insulation in the walls so you don't hear other guests).

They always had a fresh pot of coffee (reg and decaf) and hot water for tea available, which was important for me since I enjoy coffee! Nice big showers with excellent water pressure and coffee pots in the room (strangely enough I only used it once since there was always fresh coffee downstairs!).

The free continental breakfast was wonderful and offers fresh orange juice, waffles, fruits, yogurt, pastries, bagels, toaster and cereals. Much more than I had expected.

Overall, I would highly suggest this establishment to friends and family for a relaxed, comfortable stay in Columbus, Georgia.

  • Liked — Excellent Service, free wi-fi, easy access!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

You can't look at any of the older reviews, as it looks like the rooms have been completely redone. The design and comfort were similar to a 4 star hotel. I was so pleasantly surprised! We had an ergonomic chair at our desk, and extra pillows (2 soft, 2 firm, one round pillow) on each bed. The style was asian contemporary, very nice! Breakfast was good with waffles, sausage biscuits, eggs, and various danishes. Employees were helpful and friendly. I didn't have any problems during this stay. Neighborhood seemed safe enough, and hotel is conveniently located near hwy exit.

  • Liked — brand new room, contemporary furnishings
  • Disliked — pool was closed for the season
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

I was very pleased with this motel (now the LaQuinta, Columbus State University). It is definitely a 2-star motel, but the rooms have been recently renovated. and the staff was outstanding. Our beds were very comfortable (my family had two rooms), the A/C in both our rooms worked well, and the rooms were clean. The staff went out of their way to make sure folks in my group got the lowest rate possible. At this time there is no sign showing from the interstate, which made finding the motel a challenge, but there is a small sign directing you to it once you exit the interstate.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

Adding to the prior review this place stunk. The elevator was broken, there were males hanging out front or inside with the desk clerks, and they were not guests, or employees, from my take. The continental breakfast stank. The hallways smelled of human and animal scent. I felt like I was lodging in a zoo.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus State University

Address: 2919 Warm Springs Rd., Columbus, GA 31909
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus State University 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus State University Hotel Columbus
La Quinta Inn And Suites Columbus State University
La Quinta Columbus
Columbus La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbus State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.