We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Are In This Area, You NEED To Come Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth Ann's Restaurant

Ruth Ann's Restaurant
941 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31901-2820
706-221-2154
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 483 Restaurants in Columbus
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
McClellandtown, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If You Are In This Area, You NEED To Come Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Rule No. 1 about Ruth Ann's: As seems to be the case with many southern restaurants in this area, they are NOT open for dinner! They close at 3pm or 3:30pm, daily, so be advised. Having so said, it is worth arranging your schedule around a trip (or more!) to Ruth Ann's.

I can't even begin to talk about the collard greens (mysteriously tasty), grits (creamy and perfect), or chicken and dumplins' (don't even get me started...) without coming dangerously close to food-induced tears.

The decor is strictly utilitarian, 1950s-1960s "Leave It To Beaver" chic, and there ain't nothin' fancy goin' on around these here parts, but if you want to have a nice, big breakfast or lunch, one that you'll remember in years to come, and say, "Hey, remember that awesome restaurant we ate at when we were in Columbia?" then look no further than Ruth Ann's!

It's right on Veteran's Parkway, easy to find from any of the local hotels or from Fort Benning, there's parking on-site, and the crowds can get kind of big, so be prepared, but, for crying out loud--bring a good book or something, because you won't want to miss out on the great food that exists within these humble walls.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Cool Locally Owned and Worth the Wait! Great place to go for breakfast if you have to be in Uptown in the am be careful you may run into the judge you will see in an hour or so! :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BozzLadi, Owner at Ruth Ann's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the complements! Please join us again :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“not worth the wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were in Columbus to visit our son, just back from deployment and stationed at Ft. Benning. We waited 45min on a Saturday morning for breakfast. We are from Connecticut and I wanted to try the country ham and red eye gravy. It was horrible. The ham was so salty and dried out it was inedible. Yes, I know country ham is salty, but not if it's cooked correctly. Try Waffle House instead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BozzLadi, Owner at Ruth Ann's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Wait times can be lengthy on the weekends, although we recently implement some new processes that have significantly reduced them! (current average is less than 10 minutes) Our thick cut Country Ham Steak is a very salty item (as our menu explains). Some customers may not find it to their liking, but it is a traditional southern breakfast staple and we prepare it in the tradition southern way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eat breakfast, don't stay for lunch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

When you advertise that you are a home style restaurant, don't serve processed chicken fried steak and canned turkey. The veggies and cornbread were good though.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BozzLadi, Owner at Ruth Ann's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We oven roast whole turkey breast each morning. We always use fresh unprocessed meats and vegetables. (80/20 lean ground beef and locally processed chicken)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“PICKLED CHIPs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I never considered myself to be a pickled chip snob. But after having them at Ruth Ann's Cafe, everyone else is a distant 2nd place. We just wanted to take a break and relax for a few minutes with a coffee when we came across this cafe. It was fantastic. Very clean and comfortable with a friendly staff.

I can not complete this review without noting the Peacan Pie and Peach Cobbler. PERFECT!!!! This would be on my top 10 to visit again.... WE DID !!! We went back later in the day for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BozzLadi, Manager at Ruth Ann's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you fried pickle lovers everywhere!!! We appreciate the complements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth Ann's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ruth Ann's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth Ann's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.