We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic German Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bavarian House
2528 Weems Rd, Columbus, GA
(706) 257-1775
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Restaurant details
Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've been eating at Bavarian House for years--it's always a great experience. I recently traveled to Germany and was excited to compare my favorite dish, the Rouladin, with "authentic" German food. I couldn't find it anywhere! When I asked why, I was told that it was too complicated to make! Needless to say, I couldn't wait to get back to Columbus for this treat! If you are looking for a fancy place, this is not for you....but, if you want genuine German food, you'll enjoy Bavarian House!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Good, simple German Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Bavarian House is a good German restaurant; nothing spectacular. Rather, it is a place to go and get some simple German fare. They have a good selection of snitzels and some other German mains like wurst and sauerbraten. Their salad is a nice German salad of different pickled veggies and potatoes with lettuce; what they serve is based on what they can get. Their desserts are very good. They have a pretty darn good selection of bottle German beers too. The place is not fancy; it sits in a strip mall. The wait staff is typical of small town America; not “pros” by any stretch but they do OK. This place is a good place to get some German fare; I stop all the time while I’m on travel to Columbus. I like the food and the bigger the group, the more fun we have.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No Wonder Deutsch Food Has Such a Poor Reputation in the USA”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

As soon as I stepped inside, I was put off by the decor. This is the ugliest place I have ever eaten. The decorations on the walls are dusty and look like they were hung decades ago and forgotten. The furnishings are just cheap-looking tables and chairs that one sees in a low-rent banquet hall. I hoped that the food would make up for the surroundings, but was sorely disappointed. Only the beer was enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great German food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I thought this place was all-around great. The food was really delicious. I was surprised that the portions were so large. My husband and I ordered an appetizer, but then we couldn't finish our dinners because we were so full. And believe me, we were trying! The service was excellent. We were very pleased.

I'm really surprised that there was only one other review of this place. I'm not surprised that it was a good one.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“An excellent German Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Every time I come to Columbus from Warner Robins, I make a point of going to this restaurant. It is excellent! German restaurants are few and far between in Georgia, and as someone who has lived in Germany I try to visit these whenever I can. I can honestly say that this is the best German restaurant that I have found in Georgia. Schnitzle plates average around $13.00, and include side, salad, and yummy German bread. They have a large selection of German biers, including Tucher Weiss on draft. The rum cakes and Black Forest cakes are excellent for dessert.

A truly superior German restaurant that (sadly) never seems to have many customers whenever we dine there. That is a shame because this place is a little gem!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.