We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country's BBQ

Country's BBQ
3137 Mercury Drive, Columbus, GA 31906
(706) 563-7604
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 484 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The original but Country's on Broad is so much better!!! Still good though and they all have all you can eat rib or chicken nights.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    55
    31
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been eating at Country's BBQ for over 20 years so its obviously one of my favorite local restaurants. They have great barbecue, pork, beef and brisket. My favorite is the pork, and have several unique sauces, including backfire. The great thing about this restaurant is that if you aren't into BBQ, there are many other choices, including hamburger steak, fried and grilled chicken, sandwiches and daily specials. There are three locations in Columbus, and all have their own unique atmosphere and decor. My favorite is the oldest on Mercury Drive. The downtown location is actually in the old Trailways bus station (you can even eat inside an old bus that's connected to the restaurant...if you wish). If you're looking for a great local restaurants with variety, and especially if you're looking for great BBQ, you can't go wrong!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tender juicy BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you want true delicious, tender and juicy bbq then you MUST eat at Country's. I've eaten at the Columbus, Ga location as well as the other location in LaGrange, Ga. EXCELLENT bbq as well as the sides and sweet tea. Columbus location I had the combination platter of chopped pork and beef and a couple of ribs and all the meat has such great taste, tender, great smoke rings on the meat as well. At the LaGrange location I choose the brisket and still great smoked taste and NOT dried out meat that some bbq places have.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was the Best BBQ I've had in forever and you definitely get what you pay for and then some!!! They service was AWESOME!!! We had a big group of people that graduated from Basic Training at Ft. Benning and Everyone Enjoyed what they ordered. More than one person could eat per order!!! Will definitely be going back there to eat when we visit Georgia again!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The real deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Their website says family owned since '75, so not a big corporate chain, tho they do have a few locations. Food was good, prices were real fair for what you got. Fried pickles real tasty, a bit greasy. Texas beef brisket real good, plenty large serving for 'average' size guy. BBQ pork platter reported as very good. Collards, green beans, black eyed peas all very good, authentic cooking. Iced tea [mine was unsweet] was good on a warm day. The old bus station location is fun.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Country's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.