We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent For Every Reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Infantry Museum and Soldier Center

National Infantry Museum and Soldier Center
1775 Legacy Way, Columbus, GA
706-685-5800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Columbus
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Infantry Museum emphasizes the values that define the Infantryman, as well as the nation he protects: Loyalty, Duty, Respect, Selfless Service, Honor, Integrity, and Personal Courage. It preserves and displays one of the greatest collections of military artifacts in the world, but it is a museum of people, not things. As a visitor, you will meet the Infantryman face to face and join him on his journey. You will come to understand why an Infantryman does what he does, why he puts himself in harm’s way in defense of an idea and you will leave transformed, just as the Infantry transforms the man into the Soldier. The 190,000-square-foot museum opened in June 2009 on a 200-acre tract of hardwoods and pines just outside the gates of the Fort Benning Maneuver Center of Excellence.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Watertown, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent For Every Reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This museum is possibly the most well designed museums I have ever been in. Everything is very easy to read, the additional videos and sound affects do NOT detract from the learning experience whatsoever. The exhibits downstairs are arranged chronologically and everything else is arranged very logically. And, who can argue with its free? A suggested donation box is available for you to donate to (which I recommend doing).

All I can say is that I hope the same people who designed and built this museum also design and build the soon-to-be cavalry and armor museums.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    62
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banning, Ca
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
111 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Grandson Going Blue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were here for our Grandson Going Blue, which was held in the stadium directly behind the Center. We then visited the cent and also took the guided (free) tour of the WW2 model housing by tram. The museum is very nice and still needs donations to be finished (a good value) There is an IMAX there to include various displays which were great. I felt that I was there in some of the displays - The tour of the WW2 housing was excellent and was very complete from my memory of using this type of housing during my stay in the Army many years ago. This is well worth your time if in the area. Were clothing suitable for the area if you take the outside tour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Premier Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The National Infantry Museum is one of the finest museums I have experienced. Excellent artifacts arranged logically within chronological eras. Plenty of information without being overwhelming. There are plenty of very knowledgeable volunteers willing to offer insight into the displays. A must see in Columbus! It is officially free, there is a suggested donation of $5 - worth every bit so please contribute as it is a great museum offering insight into an important facet of US history. I wish more of the museums reflecting military branches were of this caliber! Outstanding.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“A must see .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I could have spent all day there. The displays are truely amazing, the amount of infomation you get is great. you really feel like you are in the time periods of the displays. all I can say is WOW

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the time and little bit of money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Goes by donation, but worth every penny you donate! It's amazing and you can easily plan to spend hours there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Infantry Museum and Soldier Center also viewed

 

Been to National Infantry Museum and Soldier Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Infantry Museum and Soldier Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.