We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great asset to Columbus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springer Opera House

Springer Opera House
103 10th St, Columbus, GA 31901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An 1871 landmark that has been designated the official State Theater of Georgia.
Midland, Georgia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great asset to Columbus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We moved here 1 year ago and bought season tickets. Great value and a great season of plays!

The building is historic and well maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Georgia's State Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Springer has so much to offer...great shows, tours, history, the list goes on. We go to a show at the theater at least two or three times a year. I highly recommend their productions. And, the theater offers you a wonderful glimpse into the past. It is one of the oldest theaters in the country. We love the Springer

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Exceptional !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We go to a lot of plays -- both regional: the Barter Theatre in Abingdon, Virginia, Cape May Stage in New Jersey, Shakespeare in Lenox, Massachusetts, plus Broadway, planned again later this summer as well as over many years before -- but until now, we had not discovered Springer Opera House. The setting is impressive, the cast of actors even more so. This past weekend, we went to "Odd Couple." The lead actor came from Los Angeles. Both "Oscar" and "Felix" were superb -- the facial expressions, the body language, the timing. I'm convinced Neil Simon's original on Broadway could not have been better -- and I have seen other Simon plays on Broadway in the past. Springer is a treasure. It's only a two-hour drive for us, but if it were twice as far,we it would still be coming back again and again. Bravo to all.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot if you have a plan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I don't think you'd get much out of just going to the Springer Opera House, but if you have a reason to be there like a play or an event, it is a beautiful venue to experience. If you have a particular interest in old theaters, perhaps you could call ahead and arrange a tour.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is Georgia's State Theater. It is old and beautiful and full of history. If you are in Columbus in October check out the haunted tours. There are some very talented people in the area.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springer Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Springer Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springer Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.