We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place if staying near the Atlanta airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pecan

The Pecan
3725 Main St, College Park, GA 30337-3544
404-762-8444
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 59 restaurants in College Park
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Marta stops in College Park, and restaurant is only 5 minutes walking distance.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place if staying near the Atlanta airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wonderful surprise - we were told there were not good restaurants near our Marriot Airport Hotel. College Park is close by and has several options. We choose The Pecan and were very pleasantly surprised. From the restored old building to the great service and tasty food the experience was a great change from hotel food. Have been back every time I'm in Atlanta for work.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    35
    28
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highway Robbery, Did Not Ask How Much?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've had Sunday Brunch there two times, about six months ago, and today 12/30/12. The atmosphere is very good, and the food on my first trip was great. The trip today was not good at all. They have regular menu items and specials. We decided to order one of the special items which is not published. The waiter verbally tells you what they are, but doesn't tell you the price. We ordered the special item of fried catfish with grits and collards greens, thinking that the price would be within the average. We made a rookie mistake and did not ask HOW MUCH? The dish turned out to be $24.00 per order, which consisted of grits, 1 fillet of fried catfish, and a saucer of collards greens. The dish was good, but vastly over priced. This is highway robbery. I can only partially blame myself for not asking HOW MUCH? How do you come up with $24.00 for grits, catfish, and collards.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great Southern Gourmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were flying out of Atlanta and stayed at the airport hotel and were recommended to here. The restaurant has a great atmosphere being in an old building wtih a brick wall with an old Coca Cola sign painted on it. The service was very good and the food was excellent as well. i had the Pecan chicken with sweet potatoes and it was excellent. Our son had the fried catfish and he loved it. I ate my son's collard greens and they were very good!! others in our group had the salmon croquettes and the stacked portabella mushroom and they all liked it very much.

We didn't have dessert or drinks as it was late when we got there but they had a nice selection. it is very close to the airport hotels and was a great way to start a trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Everything about this place is classy and worth the visit. They only open for dinner during the week. Street parking is a pain because you have to back out into traffic. Otherwise, it a great place to dine. We recommend the salmon and the pecan chicken.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fried lobster and crab cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I went to this restaurant for a business lunch on the suggestion on my dining companion. We had a reservation and were promptly seated upon arrival. The waitress was knowledgable about the menu. She was friendly and very attentive to us throughout the meal. I ordered the special which was fried lobster with a crab cake. I enjoyed both items. But, it should be noted that the crab meat was shredded. This did not bother me, but some might not like crab cakes prepared in this way. My choice was definitely pricey for lunch, but overall I was satisfied with my selection and would visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pecan also viewed

 

Been to The Pecan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pecan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.