We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angry Orchard Cider And Great Sliders” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's on Sullivan - CLOSED

Joe's on Sullivan
2144 Sullivan Rd, College Park, GA 30337-6502
404-844-5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Angry Orchard Cider And Great Sliders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

On the recommendation of our hotel front desk clerk, we head over to Joe's On Sullivan for an early dinner, brew and almost a command order from the clerk to try their onion rings.

Taking a seat at the uncrowded bar, I can see that I am already faced with a challenge which will require a bit of outside help to conquer. With selections like Lonerider Shotgun Betty, Angry Orchard Cider and Son Of A Peach, I am going to have a tough decision in front of me.

Not wanting too heavy of a meal, I settle for the “Hamburger Sliders” appetizers along with an order of onions rings to be shared. After a few easily obtained samples, “Angry Orchard Cider” wins out as my dinner adult beverage.

Without a doubt Joe's “Hamburger Sliders” with slice pickles along with an occasional onion ring carefully placed on top of the ground beef patty which is cooked just right are some of the best sliders I have ever tasted. A regular hamburger sprinkled with blue cheese looks just as delicious too.

Joe's On Sullivan is definitely a place I will come back to, again and again even if I have to end up with a Jailhouse Mugshot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    17
    45
    23
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Food was great and the waitress was great even considering we had a large party. Ribs were good with a bit of an unusual sauce on them. It reminded me of the Tyson hot wings mixed with a barbecue and without any kick.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Guiness on tap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a classic bar and family restaurant. The food is what you would expect....wings, nachos, burgers, but the beer was cold and the service was warm. A nice comfortable night out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Reserved week and in advance for 40 people. Followed up on email and by phone, but when arrived area was not ready. Waiter for parents was not very organized and seem to be more interested in socializing with other staff. Waitress for girls very attentive and efficient. Food was a little mixed up but good when received. Agreed with recommendation other noted on fried okra - very good. Overall average bar food and price so not a disappointment but not a wow.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Did the job, but not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went here twice while staying nearby for business. The first night the service was above average (though a tad slow) and the food was mixed. We split a basket of wings, which were surprisingly good, though the burger that followed was a bit overcooked for medium - and only had a speck of blue cheese on it.

The next day we returned for lunch and again service was slow (beginning to think that's a regular thing here). I had the Corned Beef Rueben which was very good.

Intangibles: I saw someone call it a remodeled Benigans and that's an accurate description. They had hockey on which was a plus, since the hotel did not.

Overall: It did the job in a pinch, just give yourself time b/c the service is slow and stay away from the burgers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's on Sullivan also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's on Sullivan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.