We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maryculter House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maryculter House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maryculter House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   South Deeside Road | Aberdeen, Maryculter AB12 5GB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Maryculter
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a bar lunch to use up a spree voucher. The bar was quiet on the day we visited . A Good choice of lunches, the club sandwich was amazing and the gnocchi was plentiful and excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff .The hotel is by the Riverside of the River Dee and the grounds are very tranquil . Well worth a visit

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    57
    27
    17
    8
See reviews for
29
66
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a meal, did not stay over. We were the only people in restaurant, which was little chilly and stark - lacked any atmosphere. Food fairly average but over-priced. Served by a very pleasant young man. Would not bother making the journey to this rural hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHHDGM, Deputy General Manager at Maryculter House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Sadie,

Many thanks indeed for your review.

I'm disappointed to hear that you were less than happy with your visit to us and would very much like to try and understand exactly what went wrong.

May I ask you to drop me an email - deputy@maryculterhousehotel.com - to let me know what date it was that you dined with us?

I hope to be able to discuss the situation with your further by email, and hopefully invite you back to try our food and service once again.

Best wishes ,

Ed Tumath
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Have had several meals now at this wonderful relaxing venue and can't fault it at all! The setting is amazing, the food is fab and the staff are lovely, in particular our wairess Aileen, who is always happy, welcoming and jovial, a breath of fresh air really and just what you need after a long week at the office!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had a family meal here to celebrate my daughters graduation. The setting was fantastic not too far from Aberdeen, the service was efficient and friendly and the meal was excellent and good value.
Nothing more to say except many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Attended a wedding in late June, decided to stay to take advantage of the beautiful setting and hotel. The setting and views were breath taking. The room was spacious and clean. However the bathroom was dimly lit and was not adequate for a person with poor sight. The wedding meal was perfect and the staff attentive and everything was well managed. The next morning my husband and I were looking forward to a cooked breakfast. We had the juice and noticed that there was a lack of cooked food out. The waitress stated that there would be additional food being brought out. I decided to wait as there was others who were also waiting. After waiting 15 minutes, and numerous apologies from the waitress, sausages and bacon arrived. However upon further inspection the sausages were raw in the middle and the bacon had hardly touched the pan, there was no sign of eggs or other cooked morsels. We decided to go home and I would have to cook breakfast. The male on reception when we checked out was not really that interested in our complaint, but stated he would tell the manager. To date Manager like the so called breakfast absent. So if you like a cooked breakfast buy it in ready to cook when you go home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Your setting is a lovely historic house on the River Dee, very scottish and antique dining rooms and lounge areas. The grounds are open and have lovely patio spaces and even a golf course. The hotel itself is quaint...meaning lovely but old...dont expect any modern amenities besides a flat screen tv. It is out of the way but a 22 pound taxi ride took me to union street back to civilization. It would be a great location for a wedding or a short relaxing turn your phone off getaway...cause the wifi barely works!

Room Tip: There is no Air conditioning, choose a room river facing for nice views and fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My partner and I have stayed many times at the Marculter House hotel and have always had a wonderful experience. Their rooms are very nice and well kept and most of them have a really nice view of the River Dee.

We were very surprised when we entered their restaurant. As I mentioned, we'd been here many times before, but it was mainly in their function hall for Ceilighs and corporate events... never the restaurant.

... and we've been missing out.... this restaurant has to be one of the best in the Shire. Fine dining in all its glory. They've got a good selection of dishes to chose from and all come out presented well. Their wine list is extensive as well and very well priced.... for Aberdeen.

We were served by a lovely German waitress who was very helpful and gave the impression that she was passionate about service and making sure we were happy. There was a wedding going on as well, but she was very helpful in getting us a nice secluded corner in their drawing room where a lot of the wedding guests were having drinks.

This is the perfect restaurant for romantic meals and special occasions. We were just annoyed that we hadn't discovered this place earlier.

Only thing I would say is to be prepared for big parties in the hotel. They cater for weddings on most weekends so the hotel can get busy and lively. Thankfully though this does not affect the restaurant as it is exclusive to guests of the hotel and small groups which is on the other end of the hotel to where the hustle and bustle of where the weddings are held.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maryculter House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryculter House Hotel

Address: South Deeside Road | Aberdeen, Maryculter AB12 5GB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Maryculter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Maryculter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryculter House Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Maryculter House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryculter Hotel Aberdeen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryculter House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.