We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel
18 Motel Drive, Clayton, GA 30525   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Cant wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We come up to Clayton every summer to drop off and pick up our son for camp. We will usually take an extra day or two for ourselves to visit the area and enjoy the mountains. I am so glad that we found this place. The owner has put his heart and soul into the place and it shows. Not only was our room very clean and comfortable but the atmosphere was so welcoming and peaceful. We loved sitting out front in the early morning drinking coffee with the neighbors around us and rocking in the chairs. What a great way to start our day. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My mother and I stayed here in one of the rooms for two nights just before the Memorial Day weekend. The cottages and motel are located right off the main street running through downtown Clayton, with a beautiful view and very peaceful environment. The room we stayed in was lovely, comfortable and very clean, and Frank, the owner and manager, was very friendly and helpful during our stay. I would definitely stay there again and recommend this place to everyone planning a stay in Clayton or Rabun County.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Best place to stay in Clayton and surrounding areas. Off of the main road on old 441. Yet less than a mile from historic downtown Clayton's shops and restaurants. The most beautiful and clean cottages and rooms around! Great place for families with a picnic area with a grill and smoke-free rooms. Owner operated so you can't beat the personal touch to make your stay as enjoyable as possible! I used to live in Clayton and would not stay anywhere else. Don't miss out and go enjoy yourself soon!

The Jackson Family

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night before spending the day on the Chattooga. Let me preface this review with the fact that I am super picky about hotels and how clean my room is. Other reviewers raved about the cleanliness of this establishment which is one of the reasons I picked Mountain Aire. The room was definitely up to my standards. I thought the beds were very comfortable (soft, not lumpy), but my travel companion would've preferred a firmer mattress. The hotel was easy to find and close to downtown. Along with the basic hotel necessities, you get personal attention from the owner, Frank, who has obviously put a lot of heart and work into his business. Why stay in a drab, run-of-the-mill hotel when you can stay here? I will definitely be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Enjoyed our second stay at Mountain Aire as much or more than our first several months ago. We stayed a couple of nights this time in the Clear View and again could not have asked for nicer accommodations. If you want lodging just a little off the beaten path, but still very close and convenient to dinning, hiking, sightseeing, etc. This is the place to stay. Very clean, peaceful and relaxing.
Thanks again Frank, we’ll be back,
Connie & Alan
Cumming,Ga.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ditto EVERYTHING that the other reviewers said. While in Clayton we needed a nice respite and found Mountain Aire fit the bill beautifully. The attention to detail and cleanliness was suburb! Frank, the owner was very attentive to our needs and he himself finished out the beautiful cottages. He is a true craftsman! Our cottage was homey and warm. If you are making a trip to Clayton, this is the place for you!!! Reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent a couple nights in the motel and Frank has created a gem in a place that needed one. The decorations are above and beyond what you will find in a chain. The coffee is great and there is a fridge and microwave. The bath was large and the beds comfortable. Frank is also a very attentive host and wants to please his guests. There is no breakfast served but the rates make that an acceptable trade off. He also has cottages if you need more room and they look even nicer. If you need a room in Clayton try this you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel

Address: 18 Motel Drive, Clayton, GA 30525
Location: United States > Georgia > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn Upscale & Affordable Cottages, The Hillside House, Individual Kitchenette Rooms, or Suites Daily, Weekend, Weekly, or Monthly Getaways. Upscale and Affordable - Casual, Comfortable Charm. Centrally located to everything! Please Note: All interiors are Strictly Non-Smoking! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Aire Cottages And Motel
Mountain Aire Cottages Hotel Clayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel to your Saves list