We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel
Save
You added Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel to your Saves list
18 Motel Drive, Clayton, GA 30525   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night before spending the day on the Chattooga. Let me preface this review with the fact that I am super picky about hotels and how clean my room is. Other reviewers raved about the cleanliness of this establishment which is one of the reasons I picked Mountain Aire. The room was definitely up to my standards. I thought the beds were very comfortable (soft, not lumpy), but my travel companion would've preferred a firmer mattress. The hotel was easy to find and close to downtown. Along with the basic hotel necessities, you get personal attention from the owner, Frank, who has obviously put a lot of heart and work into his business. Why stay in a drab, run-of-the-mill hotel when you can stay here? I will definitely be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzianna20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Enjoyed our second stay at Mountain Aire as much or more than our first several months ago. We stayed a couple of nights this time in the Clear View and again could not have asked for nicer accommodations. If you want lodging just a little off the beaten path, but still very close and convenient to dinning, hiking, sightseeing, etc. This is the place to stay. Very clean, peaceful and relaxing.
Thanks again Frank, we’ll be back,
Connie & Alan
Cumming,Ga.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ditto EVERYTHING that the other reviewers said. While in Clayton we needed a nice respite and found Mountain Aire fit the bill beautifully. The attention to detail and cleanliness was suburb! Frank, the owner was very attentive to our needs and he himself finished out the beautiful cottages. He is a true craftsman! Our cottage was homey and warm. If you are making a trip to Clayton, this is the place for you!!! Reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent a couple nights in the motel and Frank has created a gem in a place that needed one. The decorations are above and beyond what you will find in a chain. The coffee is great and there is a fridge and microwave. The bath was large and the beds comfortable. Frank is also a very attentive host and wants to please his guests. There is no breakfast served but the rates make that an acceptable trade off. He also has cottages if you need more room and they look even nicer. If you need a room in Clayton try this you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Everything we wanted: nice surroundings, internet connection, clean, comfortable, home-y and reasonably priced. That alone would have been enough to make us happy. But we found all that and so much more!

Our cabin was thoughtfully decked out with a lovely fireplace (gas), AC and heat, rocking chairs, a heat lamp for the bathroom as well as a washer and dryer and amazingly soft, thick towels and linens. There are local crafts decorating the rooms and a stocked bookshelf under the flat screen TV.

Other surprises that turned out to be useful as well- the bottle of hydrogen peroxide in the bathroom medicine chest, a nice new coffee pot, along with coffee and filters in the kitchen, beautifully landscaped and maintained grounds, the big gas grill and a trail up to a picnic table with a great view of the mountains. This place is a real treasure!

Then there's Clayton- a nice little town filled with lots of small shops for browsing, cafes for resting and getting coffee, a variety of restaurants and a very well stocked Ingles grocery store.

And then there's Frank, the friendly, helpful owner/ operator. Besides building some of the cabins and renovating all the others, he keeps the cabins and grounds in top notch shape, knows the area well and will direct you to some breathtakingly awe- inspiring waterfalls,

Did I already say this place is a treasure?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graciewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family came to Mountain Aire for a little bit of quiet and to escape the hustle, bustle, and techno-insanity that is everyday life. What we found is that Frank is fantastically on top of everything here, has built and maintained a perfect little getaway, and really cares about his guests. The cottage we stayed in, The Clearview, provided us exactly that, a clear view of our family and the time to reconnect. This establishment has everything you could need in a quiet escape, without all of the traffic and to's and fro's of a standard hotel. Kudos to Frank and his Mountain Aire. What a blessing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatom, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We are on the porch now drinking a glass of wine in our rocking chairs. A single owner that handles everything including the cleaning. Very good value for a few days in Clayton, GA, close to main street, we walked to the cafe to eat breakfast. Lots of trees and greenery on the property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 3 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
15.7 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Aire Cottages & Motel

Address: 18 Motel Drive, Clayton, GA 30525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn Upscale & Affordable Cottages, The Hillside House, Individual Kitchenette Rooms, or Suites Daily, Weekend, Weekly, or Monthly Getaways. Upscale and Affordable - Casual, Comfortable Charm. Centrally located to everything! Please Note: All interiors are Strictly Non-Smoking! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Aire Cottages Hotel Clayton
Mountain Aire Cottages And Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing