We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern hospitality and real home-style cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Henry's Restaurant
78 Lynn Dr, Clayton, GA 30525
(706) 782-3533
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 46 Restaurants in Clayton
Restaurant details
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Southern hospitality and real home-style cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Located on highway 441 just a mile South of Clayton Georgia, Henry's Restaurant is a hungry travelers roadside gem.
No menus here, just the wonderful buffet filled with fresh from the farm veggies, fried chicken, mashed potatos, green beans, spaghetti with an awesome meat sauce, breads and hush puppies, etc., etc., and a big assortment of home made desserts.

Henry's is a family owned restaurant featuring a delightful buffet with every selection being fresh cooked on the premises by the owner Lynn, and her family.

When we turned into the parking lot we noticed most of the vehicles had Rabun County license plates so we knew this restaurant is "the place" where locals go for lunch.
The staff were very attentive and made us feel right at home.
Southern hospitality and really good, reasonably priced home-style food is alive and well at Henry's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sylva
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Henry's is good eatin'!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great little roadside restaurant that you miss if you're not looking for. So look for it! A good variety of veggies to go along with the fried chicken and fried chicken livers. They know how to do livers right! Homemade peach ice cream was a real treat. The buffet also has a salad bar with a good selection of ingredients with which to make a hefty salad. The servers were handy and always seemed to know if you needed a drink refill.Two of us ate for $25. The man who checked me out even gave a Henry's fridge magnet to me. They aren't open on Saturdays or Mondays and have early hours only so get there before lunch is over.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otto, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Genuine Home Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

In an unassuming little building, you have no idea of the treasure waiting inside. Casual, homey atmosphere with a friendly staff. No menus here, everyone gets the buffet. And what a buffet! Our visit was on a Sunday. The meats on offer were fried chicken (lightly breaded, not battered, with a delicious coating), fried chicken livers (my friend claimed they were delicious), and meatloaf loaded with green peppers and a ketchupy glaze. Mashed potatoes, gravy, green beans, navy beans, rutabagas (my first ever, very tasty), boiled cabbage all had that home-cooked taste. A salad bar with lettuce and fixings and fruit were all fresh. Angel biscuits and cornbread rounded things out. Dessert was a selection of cake, banana pudding, and the most delicious homemade peach ice cream you have ever put in your mouth. Closed on Saturday and Monday. Buffet is served 11-2 all other days. Very reasonably priced, it includes your drink. We will definitely make this a regular dining spot...we live in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken in Clayton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I always look forward to my visits to Clayton because it will include eating at Henry's. My mouth is watering now...won't be long before I am there again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemont, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“OMG, What a lunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you leave this restaurant hungry, SHAME ON YOU!! The best buffet in all of Georgia, at a VERY reasonable price. Down home cooking with large tables for family atmosphere. NO DISAPPOINTMENTS here!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Henry's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.