We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but pricey for what it offers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   834 Highway 441 South, Clayton, GA 30525   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location but pricey for what it offers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a great location.we had been to Clayton for chattooga wild water rafting, SC. It his is located about 20 mins from there. There are good restaurants within less than a 2 m radius. Located right on the highway for easy accessibility. Close to all activities nearby. But we paid a lot for what it offers. The rooms are dark and dingy, clean though.this is more like a motel kind of a place.has a good breakfast buffet which was complimentary. Not much to complain since we spent most part of the day on the river.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinaya_Kini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel is south of town on main road. It is a fair way off the road, but we had rooms facing the road and the road noise was surprising loud. Did not use the AC at all, so that may be why the road seemed louder than usual. Check in was fast. We had four rooms reserved. My room was larger than usual with two queen beds. The photos on Choice site of the rooms for this hotel were exact representations.

Room included table and two chairs, long low dresser, CRT TV, Fridge, Microwave, coffee maker, iron and board. One luggage rack. Sink was outside the bathroom. Room came with four full sets of towels which is unusual these days. Most seem to think three is enough. Beds were comfortable with four pillows each.

Breakfast included normal cold options plus hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage patties and bacon. Eating area is small, but they kept things filled.

Got in late so I did not see any other amenities.

Rooms felt very clean and had no smell at all.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms that face the highway to the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youthtripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived late and everything was ready. The night clerk was friendly. The room was as described. We rented a two room suite with fireplace. During the night the gas fireplace stopped working. We reported it the next morning and they were unable to repair it so we switched to another room. The day clerk was helpful also. We were given a 10% discount by the GM, Victoria, because of the inconvenience. We found the property clean and well kept although it is an older property. Even though we had problems they were addressed properly. We liked the room and they had left extra towels in the room. The towels were very nice and absorbent. We had plenty of pillows and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was what is expected for this chain. I had previously booked a room at this hotel but had to cancel at the last minute and although I had gone past the expiration time, they didn't charge me. I really appreciated it and we decided at the last minute to go on this trip and booked two nights to say thanks. I will stay here again on my next trip to the Smoky Mountains.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank im4jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

One night at the QI Clayton was just fine. Its on the south side of town, there is not much within walking distance. The room was what you would expect of an average Quality Inn. The bed was comfortable, the room showed normal wear and tear, but for the most part acceptably clean. Its was bigger than the average size with a couch and table. The desk clerk was very nice and even the morning breakfast was enough to get me started. So overall for a quick stay and the low rate, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelguyvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This inn, in North Georgia near the North Carolina border, is attractive, clean and comfortable with very spacious rooms. Check in is at 2:00, earlier than many competitors. I found the breakfast satisfying and the plumbing working well. I've stayed at Mountain Chalet before, had a positive experience this time, and intend to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

While an older property, the Quality Inn on the south side of Clayton is well maintained and very clean facility. As an overnight sleeping spot it will fit most travelers’ needs.

However, the trumpeted hot full breakfast has a big catch -- its timing. The hot full breakfast is advertised and said to be served until 9:00 AM, but show up at 8:45 AM, and you will find the full breakfast stables (eggs and bacon) gone, and the kitchen staff sitting in the front lounge chairs for guests.

A polite observation and comment to the staff that perhaps the eggs and bacon need to be replenished will be redirected and then met with a desk clerk's sweet, but very sarcastic, direction that there is cold cereal still available (i.e., that the steam trays for hot food will not be replenished).

The caution here is that if a guest at this facility truly wants the advertised hot breakfast, be there by 8:00 AM, or be prepared for cold cereal accompanied by a sweetly sneering desk clerk , with the Quality Inn’s three person kitchen staff sitting in the front guest lounge and turning a blind eye to the guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We read Trip Advisor before heading to N Ga and chose this hotel based on the reviews. Imagine our less than stellar surprise! We wondered if we'd entered the wrong hotel. While the staff was very friendly, pleasant and welcoming, our room left much to be desired. We did not stay one night - we were booked for four nights so had an opportunity to witness staff changes. Not every staff person was as friendly as the one when we checked in. A few were barely interactive.
We were given a "special room" - made special by the fact it had a flat screen TV. We were soon to learn why that TV was special.
Upon entering the room we had to turn on lights (none of which were above a 40 watt bulb.) The lighting in this "quality" inn was dismal. But the worst was yet to come. The toilet would not flush well - water simply swirling round and round in the bowl. We called the front desk which responded: "We've never had a problem before" as though we had somehow damaged the illustrious plumbing system. Her further comments were - sometimes it takes a while. When challenged again she came bearing a PLUNGER to solve the problem. It did not! We could not flush the bathroom all through the night so asked to be moved to another room the following morning. This seemed a big inconvenience for the staff though the hotel only had 5 cars parked in front of rooms.
We were moved to another room which was darker and more dismal than the "special room" - Again the lighting was a disaster. And the TV was an old cathode ray with picture so dark one could not view the screen. I went to the office to ask if there was a controller that might fix the lightness-darkness or contrast on the TV. The very welcoming staff person of the previous day now had lost her glow of friendliness. She told me she did not know where the "master controller was - it was around here someplace and she'd have to look for it" --- I inquired about the maintenance man which was breezily ignored. Needless to say, in 4 days the remote controller was never found, the maintenance man never showed up, so we read books in the dimly lit room in the evening as the TV was too dark to see.
But the best was yet to come ... this toilet had trouble flushing too. Same as the one in the "special room". When we complained again to the front desk that this toilet was also not flushing she gave us the plunger to keep in the room. Ive never been in a hotel (NOT EVEN IN THE WILDS OF PERU) where the solution to a plumbing problem was the guest should plunge their own toilet.
Their breakfast was ok though the coffee very weak. The beds were comfortable and the pillows nice. But overall this CHOICE property really needs upgrades to the septic system (perhaps a clean out?) and the 19" dark cathode ray TV's need to be changed. And while they are at it, get some bright bulbs in the rooms so guests don't feel like they're in a catacomb.

Room Tip: Investigate each room; flush the toilets; check the TV and lighting, then put your credit card down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FLTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 3 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
20.3 mi away
Country Hearth Inn Toccoa
21.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet

Address: 834 Highway 441 South, Clayton, GA 30525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Clayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Clayton
Clayton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing