We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a spacious room, Mountain Chalet is for you.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   834 Highway 441 South, Clayton, GA 30525   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you want a spacious room, Mountain Chalet is for you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This inn, in North Georgia near the North Carolina border, is attractive, clean and comfortable with very spacious rooms. Check in is at 2:00, earlier than many competitors. I found the breakfast satisfying and the plumbing working well. I've stayed at Mountain Chalet before, had a positive experience this time, and intend to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

While an older property, the Quality Inn on the south side of Clayton is well maintained and very clean facility. As an overnight sleeping spot it will fit most travelers’ needs.

However, the trumpeted hot full breakfast has a big catch -- its timing. The hot full breakfast is advertised and said to be served until 9:00 AM, but show up at 8:45 AM, and you will find the full breakfast stables (eggs and bacon) gone, and the kitchen staff sitting in the front lounge chairs for guests.

A polite observation and comment to the staff that perhaps the eggs and bacon need to be replenished will be redirected and then met with a desk clerk's sweet, but very sarcastic, direction that there is cold cereal still available (i.e., that the steam trays for hot food will not be replenished).

The caution here is that if a guest at this facility truly wants the advertised hot breakfast, be there by 8:00 AM, or be prepared for cold cereal accompanied by a sweetly sneering desk clerk , with the Quality Inn’s three person kitchen staff sitting in the front guest lounge and turning a blind eye to the guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We read Trip Advisor before heading to N Ga and chose this hotel based on the reviews. Imagine our less than stellar surprise! We wondered if we'd entered the wrong hotel. While the staff was very friendly, pleasant and welcoming, our room left much to be desired. We did not stay one night - we were booked for four nights so had an opportunity to witness staff changes. Not every staff person was as friendly as the one when we checked in. A few were barely interactive.
We were given a "special room" - made special by the fact it had a flat screen TV. We were soon to learn why that TV was special.
Upon entering the room we had to turn on lights (none of which were above a 40 watt bulb.) The lighting in this "quality" inn was dismal. But the worst was yet to come. The toilet would not flush well - water simply swirling round and round in the bowl. We called the front desk which responded: "We've never had a problem before" as though we had somehow damaged the illustrious plumbing system. Her further comments were - sometimes it takes a while. When challenged again she came bearing a PLUNGER to solve the problem. It did not! We could not flush the bathroom all through the night so asked to be moved to another room the following morning. This seemed a big inconvenience for the staff though the hotel only had 5 cars parked in front of rooms.
We were moved to another room which was darker and more dismal than the "special room" - Again the lighting was a disaster. And the TV was an old cathode ray with picture so dark one could not view the screen. I went to the office to ask if there was a controller that might fix the lightness-darkness or contrast on the TV. The very welcoming staff person of the previous day now had lost her glow of friendliness. She told me she did not know where the "master controller was - it was around here someplace and she'd have to look for it" --- I inquired about the maintenance man which was breezily ignored. Needless to say, in 4 days the remote controller was never found, the maintenance man never showed up, so we read books in the dimly lit room in the evening as the TV was too dark to see.
But the best was yet to come ... this toilet had trouble flushing too. Same as the one in the "special room". When we complained again to the front desk that this toilet was also not flushing she gave us the plunger to keep in the room. Ive never been in a hotel (NOT EVEN IN THE WILDS OF PERU) where the solution to a plumbing problem was the guest should plunge their own toilet.
Their breakfast was ok though the coffee very weak. The beds were comfortable and the pillows nice. But overall this CHOICE property really needs upgrades to the septic system (perhaps a clean out?) and the 19" dark cathode ray TV's need to be changed. And while they are at it, get some bright bulbs in the rooms so guests don't feel like they're in a catacomb.

Room Tip: Investigate each room; flush the toilets; check the TV and lighting, then put your credit card down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glennville, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Depending on trip advisor reviews, my sister & I stayed here one rainy night last week. We were met by a very friendly, helpful check in at front desk. As I* had read on TA rooms were very clean, comfortable beds and great pillows. Small shower, but again very clean! Basic room in older hotel, but could not have asked for more for one night. We were so pleased that we will consider this location when ever we have to stay in Clayton. Almost hate to tell others about this location as they had already heard of their great reviews onh TA. Price was good and info on places to eat wAS OH SO ACCURATE! Breakfast area very small, but only one other family at the time we had breakfast. Basic, but enough variety and hot items that it was very satisfying. A very pleasant young man at checkout made this a very enjoyable stay. Would stay here again without a doubt. (hope to in the near future)

Room Tip: All rooms open on outside-but had quiet neighbors-good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here-we were very impressed. HUGE room with a fireplace, couch in a different room than where we slept, clean, great staff!!! I would so recommend this place!!!! If we are ever in the area again we would stay here...would not even consider anywhere else!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We go to North Ga a couple times a year. When ever I travel I stay in Choice Hotels and this is one. It may not be the fanciest motel I have stayed in but the people make you feel like you are at home. We have stayed for a weekend and for a couple of weeks. The rooms are always clean and the food is always good. The motel is so centrally located we can stay here and do what ever we want during the day. Cherokee NC is only a short drive, Franklin has a wonderful Fun place the kids love and it is less than an hour away, we love going to Highlands which is less than an hour too, the Dillard House is only 30 minutes, Helen is right over the mountain, Tiger Ga is right there a few minutes from then motel and then south is Clarksville and Cornilla that are only 3o minutes away, Right across the street is Ms Megs Diner that the food is to die for and then going toward Dillard we found a place that serves a killer breakfast. One day I am going to move to this town. WE love it. So much to do when you are there. We stay here - do not have to pay an arm and leg for a clean place to sleep so then we have more money to do things and boy are there a lot of things to do while you are there.

Room Tip: I can not climb steps so we always stay downstairs in the back. You can even hear the roosters in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were just traveling through the area on our way north and decided to spend the night in Clayton, NC. Our room was comfortable (king bed) and clean except for a sticky substance on the bottom of the hotel amenities book. The hotel staff, especially the front desk personnel, were very friendly and helpful. The pool was very clean. The breakfast was the standard served in hotels and the food was hot and the breakfast area was very clean. I was definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet

Address: 834 Highway 441 South, Clayton, GA 30525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Clayton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Clayton
Clayton Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.