We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outdoor restaurant..great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Universal Joint

Universal Joint
109 N Main St., Clayton, GA
+1 706-782-7116
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 46 Restaurants in Clayton
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Vegetarian, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Creative burgers, wings, well thought out menu with everything made in house. A full bar including 16 draft beers featuring craft and domestic. Outdoor seating and live music Friday and Saturdays May through October.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor restaurant..great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I grew up in this town, so as a child we would get gas here. I love when people convert old gas stations into creative businesses! The food is always good and eclectic but the service can be iffy at times. For the most part, this is a great place to sit back, watch the traffic on Main Street and listen to some live music! Just be prepared to wait on the iffy service day's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    70
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinity, Florida
2 reviews
“Best Hamburgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had dinner with my family here last night and it was fantastic. Best hamburgers we've had in a long long time. You gotta try the Steinbeck!!!! Homemade pimento cheese and pickled jalapeños. French fries were wonderful as well. Definitely will try it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“An eclectic dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Liked the old coke bottles used in the fence...My bacon, arugula, tomato sandwich on ciabatta bread was very tasty, as were the tater tots. My wife had a great chicken quesadilla which was so large she had to take half of it home. They have quite a varied menu and we will return to try the 1/2 pound burgers. Quite a selection of beers available as well. Watch out for the Clayton police if you have a few; they are somewhat notorious for pulling folks over...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ne jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Been to this place several times and always enjoyed the food. Service can be spotty so don't be in a rush.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cool place, Good food, Poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have eaten at UJ 5 times over the last several months and it has been consistent: the food is always good; the service is always slow. Saturday was a new low re service. 5 of us arrived at about 2 to avoid the lunch crowd and ordered shortly thereafter. At about 2:40 we were told that we could not get something we had ordered because it was no longer on the menu. We pointed out that the same meal was available as a gluten free option (good job BTW to have a gluten free menu) and the waitress told us "Well I have been arguing with the chef and he is not going to fix it." Having invested 45 minutes already we reordered and received our lunch (salad, hamburgers, wings) after about an hour. Still my favorite restaurant in Clayton, but don't go unless you have time to kill.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal Joint also viewed

 

Been to Universal Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal Joint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.