We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy is an understatement!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fromage

Fromage
31 Earl Street, Clayton, GA
706-212-7349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Description: 706-982-1284;
Restaurant details
Description: 706-982-1284;
TampaBay
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Yummy is an understatement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were back in Clayton today looking for a good lunch and stopped at Fromage. My husband ordered the special: chicken and asparagus crepes in a parmesan sauce with a side salad and a cup of Italian onion soup. I had a salad with chunky chicken salad, a scope of artichokes and rice salad and green salad. Both were fantastic. But wait that's not all. We were disappointed that they ran out of Lemon cake so we ordered butter bundt cake with strawberries. The slice was huge and came with a yummy browned butter sauce. We both worked on it with pleasure and couldn't finish it all. My advice: If you go save room for dessert!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ugh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were eagerly looking forward to lunch at this restaurant based on the reviews here and other places. I'm not sure why, but our experience was poor at best. The restaurant was junky and cluttered and made me think it might not be very clean. The food was really not on par with what I would serve guests in my own home, and I'm not a professional chef. Don't go hungry; you will be disappointed. I am more than happy to pay for quality and portions, but both were lacking here, I'm afraid.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenny8fromage, Owner at Fromage, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Good Afternoon!
I am truly sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at Fromage & Other Fine Foods. I take great pride in using the best product, hiring friendly staff, being clean and giving back to the community. May 18th was the 2nd Annual Fur Ball for Rabun Paws 4 Life and I am the Chairperson for this event, so all the clutter was the auction items and supplies for this event. Not knowing what you orders or the specifics of your visit and can't give any explanation, but I am very sorry you didn't like your visit. If you told your waitress, I would have hoped they would have taken care of the issue. I'll be sure to talk to my staff so they handle complaints properly in the future. Hope you will try us again! Thanks,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton Ga
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Fresh salads and good lunch specials always available. Food is good. Sometimes a little quirky, but generally very flavorful. Everything on the base menu is good and the menu changes very often. The specials are sometime great and other times are just okay. Dessert is always delicious.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillard, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch spot!'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a quaint little lunch spot with over the top delicious food. We loved it! Do yourself a favor and save room for dessert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“YUM! YUM! YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If Jennie makes it, you'll want to eat it! From her creative quiches (today was brie and butternut squash) to her flavorful soups, creator and chef/owner Jennie knows how to please her diners! Her chicken salad has crasins in it! It is SOOOOO delicious! The daily cheese melt features cheeses you would not have at home and if you did, you wouldn't know what to do with them. Jennie makes it all 'melt in your mouth ' delicious!
Save room for her incredible deserts because you have NEVER tasted anything like these before. Using local fresh ingredients, she comes up with the most delicious combinations of flavors ever! If she has the blackberry Mandarin Orange cake, skip the regular meal and just eat dessert!
Open for a special dinner only one night a month. Call or look on her website for the right date. Well worth a visit!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fromage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fromage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.