We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in a favorite place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fromage

Fromage
31 Earl Street, Clayton, GA
706-212-7349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Description: 706-982-1284;
Restaurant details
Description: 706-982-1284;
Homestead, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed in a favorite place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Love the indoor porch and the bright oilcloth tablecloths. The service was attentive and friendly but the muffaletta sandwich had such hard and dry sourdough bread that we could not eat it. We had to take the bread off and eat the salami/ham cheese insides. We had asked for mustard (to attempt and fix the dry aspect) and mentioned the bread to our server, then to the chef who came and checked with us. Considering the sandwich was small (compared to our delicious roast beef sandwich - we were splitting them both) and the price was a very high 10.99 - and no adjustment was made on the bill, we were disappointed in a couple of ways, having had very delicious and fairly priced meals there in the past.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Adorable porch and owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I work nearby for 1 month each summer and very rarely do we get out for lunch. I recently ate here and had a veggie sandwich and corn and bean relish. It was delicious. But what makes this my favorite place to eat in Clayton is the owner. She is very friendly but with attitude! The fruit and cheese plate is sinful and worth all of the calories! We also split a huge hunk of lemon cake that was insanely yummy. It is located in a white house with a beautiful porch with plenty of parking. It is very easy to get to and a great place to have a casual but good lunch. I hope to go back next year!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“SERIOUSLY??Blueberry/Orange Gran Marnier Cake????”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Jenny is one of the world's best chefs and she shares her talent in a little while house in Clayton, Ga. Just a block off the busy Highway 441, you can pull up a chair under a fan on the porch and order whatever the special is...or the chicken salad....or the cheese toast plate....really, it doesn't matter what you order. You are going to LOVE it! Men enjoy the food just as much as the ladies. This restaurant is a place where one might think the 'ladies go to lunch', but get over that fast! The food is so terrific that anyone would enjoy dining here. Thanks, Jenny for your outrageously delicious food!!!!!! And if she has blueberry/orange gran marnier cake avaiable - buy all that is left and take it with you! INCREDIBLE!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Don't forget Jenny's Brownies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I like everything about Fromage. I bought wine and brownies most recently for my out of town guests. We eat at Fromage frequently and are always pleased.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent, Interesting Food in a nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We went to Fromage while in Clayton after reading some of the other reviews on Tripadvisor, and we're very glad that we did.

I can't say enough good things about this place. The owner was very friendly, the food was excellent, and the atmosphere was wonderful.

It was a beautiful Saturday afternoon, so we were able to sit outside. It's a very pleasant, relaxing atmosphere.

They have a very interesting menu which changes weekly. My wife had a blue cheese-filled gnocchi in a cheese sauce, and I had a roast beef sandwich & Morbier cheese sandwich. Both were excellent.

Not surprisingly for a restaurant named "Fromage", they have an excellent selection of cheeses - some I had never heard of before.

And, as others have mentioned, the peanut butter chocolate cake was amazing. They gave us a huge piece...we split it and still had to take some of it home.

We'll definitely go back when we're in Clayton and recommend that our friends do the same.

A couple of details...they're only open for lunch (except for some special-occasion dinners), and it's a little hard to find. Also, the address that appears when you search in Google is incorrect. It's on 31 Earl St, not 31 Clayton Ave.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fromage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fromage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.