We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beechwood Inn is Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechwood Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beechwood Inn to your Saves list
Beechwood Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   220 Beechwood Drive, P.O. Box 429, Clayton, GA 30525   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 7 Clayton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beechwood Inn is Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

My husband and I recently spent several nights in the lovely Beechwood Inn. We found the ambiance to be charming, the accommodations excellent and the food extraordinary. We would definitely recommend this beautiful Inn to friends and do plan to return!

  • Liked — Very relaxing ambiance, wonderful food and wine
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    22
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
129
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

Gayle and David are the perfects hosts -- warm, knowledgable, and friendly. The Inn was quiet, charming, and inviting. The surroundings were gorgeous -- we particularly enjoyed taking in the view from the rocking chairs on the porch. Breakfast was creative and delicious every morning. We hope to make our next stay a weekend visit so that we can enjoy dinner and wine festivities at the Beechwood. This was by far our best experience at a B&B.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

While attending a friend's wedding in Clayton, Georgia, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Beechwood Inn. The Innkeepers were wonderful and very knowledgeable about the various attractions of the area. The Inn has planned numerous dinners with pairings of various wines and dishes. Although we were unable to participate on this trip, we plan to return to enjoy this facet of the Inn. We highly recommend the Beechwood Inn to all who wish to leave the congestion of the city and enjoy the North Georgia mountains.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
punta gorda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

I can't describe how absolutely lovely our weekend was! We went there to celebrate my 40th birthday and I had a wonderful time.
Please if you want a great weekend try this place

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

I was looking for a place to take my husband for his birthday and came across travel vacation packages through Midwest Airlines. I didn't have a specific destination in mind and the Beechwood Inn in Clayton was the first bed and breakfast inn that appeared on the travel page. I had never heard of Clayton and have never been to GA, but when I clicked on the website, I was more and more interested. I read glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, which helped me make my choice (I'm always somewhat hesitant to choose a B&B off a website, as we've had questionable experiences in the past). I am happy to report that this was one of the most enjoyabe vacations we've had. When we arrived, there were guests sitting on the porch because it was "wine-30". Each afternoon from 5-6:30, they offer complimentary wine and appetizers for guests. There are three wines made by the owners, which we enjoyed for each of the three evenings of our stay with the other guests. In the morning, we enjoyed coffee on the porch followed by a wonderful two-course breakfast. The breakfast started with fruit and a muffin followed by a main course. During the day, we took some day trips to surrounding areas. The Beechwood is very close to the GA wine highway, which has about 8-9 wineries/vineyards. The wine region seems to be in its infancy, but it was a very enjoyable experience, nonetheless. We had dinner at different locations around Clayton; the food was generally good, but sometimes the atmosphere/service was not the best. The Beechwood Inn offers dinners for guests on certain weekends, and I've heard that these dinners get rave reviews; however, this was not going on during our stay. The inn was very clean, comfortable, and welcoming--certainly a place that I would stay again. Overall, we had a very relaxing time--it was the perfect way to celebrate my husband's birthday. Although I enjoyed everything about our trip, I have to say that our favorite thing was relaxing on the front porch with a cup of coffee or glass of wine and looking at the GA mountains. It was breathtaking.

  • Liked — Great view and very romantic, relaxing atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

We enjoyed the tremendous hospitality of the Beechwood Inn. Even though we arrived later than planned (please accept our apologies), David graciously welcomed us and gave us a tour. Gayle had arranged for the Romantic Package with champagne, a dozen beautiful red roses (which we are still enjoying) and truffles! David also took the time the next day to give us maps, locations, and information about the local wineries. When we arrived back at the Inn after a day of traveling beautiful scenic roads to the wineries, there was wine and cheese and warm and funny conversation among the other wonderful guests. My husband and I could not have asked for a better way to celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary. We even got a great photo (thanks to Gayle) with Scupper, their lovable pooch! There is plenty of other scenery around the inn to photograph, too. Thanks again for a memorable vacation and we will likely be back with guests in tow!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

My husband and I were looking for a special place to spend our anniversary. We hadn't been to a B&B before and we were more than surprised. David, Gayle and Scupper and the perfect hosts. The Inn was spectacular. The food was delicious. The wine was perfect. Our favorite moments centered around the porch. We couldn't have asked for better weather. We enjoyed "wine-thirty" in the evening and the special roasted coffee in the morning. It is so quiet and peaceful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Inn

Address: 220 Beechwood Drive, P.O. Box 429, Clayton, GA 30525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Clayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Bed and Breakfast in Georgia 2013" by the Readers of Georgia Magazine. Beechwood Inn is Georgia's Premier Wine Country Inn and offers luxury lodging and fine dining. Wine Enthusiast Magazine places Beechwood Inn in the Top 5 Destinations "for your next wine and food-focused escape." Travel writer Becky Lamb says: "The Beechwood Inn is the closest thing to a Napa Valley Bed and Breakfast we have here in Georgia." The Inn features Northeast Georgia's only Wine Spectator Award of Excellence restaurant. The inn offers fine dining almost every Saturday featuring Chef's Tasting Dinners paired to fine wines. Most of our seasonal foods are organic and natural, many from sustainable North Georgia farms, orchards, dairies and vineyards. Due to the special nature of our foods advance reservations are needed. Two "Best Chefs America" 2013 on staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Beechwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel Clayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.