We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In spite of 5 star reviews it felt like summer camp to us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Glen-Ella Springs Inn to your Saves list
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1789 Bear Gap Road, Clarkesville, GA 30523   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover the Falls Pkg.
Ranked #1 of 5 Clarkesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
DEstin Fl
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“In spite of 5 star reviews it felt like summer camp to us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

It's a nice place, clean and friendly. Certainly the most upscale summer camp experience you can have. Bed is comfy but the AC unit blows from the floor and the low setting is not low. The floors creak and the upstairs plumbing is loud--- but for being in the country on a dirt road, it's nice. No TV, which is good. Nice areas for walks and hikes--lots of birds--did not spot any deer.
The restaurant is ok but gourmet would be a real stretch of the word--it is good basic cookin--no frills. Good breakfast with excellent grits.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    38
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
193
8
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Believe what you read in these reviews. I cannot think of any negative comments to say about this Inn. The Inn is a wonderful old structure, that sits on a secluded dirt road and is as quiet as anywhere I have ever stayed. We booked a suite which is perhaps one of the great values of all time. Wonderful verandas to sit and do nothing or read or just look at the scenery. The pool looked inviting but since it is only April 1 I would imagine to cold for me or my spouse. The staff...where to begin. Courteous, friendly, happy, helpful, chatty and just plain a joy to be around would just about say it all. Our anniversary dinner was as fine as could be had anywhere. My wife had the salmon, while I had the shrimp, and both of us ate more than we should have. The wine list features local wine which must be tried. We are by no means wine snobs but both of us totally enjoyed our selections. Chocolate cake and coffee for dessert. WOW By the way I believe we were the only guests at the Inn, it was a Wed. night in the early spring. Breakfast was also fabulous, and I recommend the biscuits. We had an opportunity to meet and enjoy a conversation with the owners. Now I understand the attitude of the staff. The owners lead by example and we felt like old friends by the time we left. As we were checking out my wife asked where she might find some batteries for her camera. "Right here" she was told and in a moment the clerk appeared with 4 AA batteries and would not take any money for them. What would we do different? Nothing except stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

My wife and I, along with another couple, spent Valentine's weekend at this magnificent bed and breakfast at Glen Ella Springs. The owners, Ed and Luci, have created a wonderful facility that is known throughout the area has having some of the best food (in ample supply) that can be found anywhere in Georgia. The service and room accomodations are excellant and provide for maximum comfort, privacy and relaxation, with rooms having a porch offering panaramic views of the meadow and surrounding mountains. Not far from many attractions, Glen Ella Springs is only a few miles from beautiful Lake Burton, Clayton, Helen and other nearby towns. Anne and I highly recommend that you visit this bed and breakfast best kept secret. Enjoy your time away from the rat race of everyday life. Larry D. Moss, Augusta, GA

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

This is the perfect place for a getaway. No in-room television takes the world away for a while. There is a television "room" but when surrounded by this peace, why ruin it with the real world? Ed and Luci are gracious and friendly hosts--and Ed makes a mean apple pancake!

We will return...hopefully regularly...to recharge our minds and souls in the serene beauty of this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed at the Glen Ella last summer for a night and had a great time. So, we thought we would try it out on Valentines Day weekend and we loved it once again. The winter weather provided about 4 inches of snow on the rural landscape around the Inn and that was truly a beautiful site to behold. Ed and Luci take a very person stake in making sure all of their guests are treated like royalty. The outstanding food is the perfect compliment to the simplicity of a historic Inn. Rustic and quant. Quiet and very comfortable. The Glen Ella is a great get away any time of year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca, Arkansas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We had the pleasure of attending a one-day business meeting at Glen-Ella. We're in the small resort lodging business and were very pleased with the ambience of the place. Our dinner was very good and the service excellent. While we did not get to spend the night, we were given a tour of several rooms. All were well-appointed, roomy, and reasonably priced for the quality of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

my wife and i just got back from the most relaxing 4 days of our lives.ed kivett is truly a dedicated innskeeper.the entire staff starting from debbie, the inns manager,to there entire staff wait on you in a truly professional and courteous attitude.all requests were filled immediately.the on location restaurant,is a true gourmet feast.the grounds are as beautiful as the setting is in the middle of the mountains.waking up and enjoying your coffee sitting in the rocking chairs on your balcony while you see the deer, and turkeys in the nearby fields,or just rocking back and forth while enjoying some delicous habersham wine while enjoying the brisk clean mountain air.this is going to be my first of many future visits. a truly hidden gem.
oscar and joni diaz-albertini

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen-Ella Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Address: 1789 Bear Gap Road, Clarkesville, GA 30523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Clarkesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen-Ella Springs Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of Atlanta, sits this historic country inn, nestled on 17 acres in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Featuring 16 elegant yet rustic guest rooms and a fine dining restaurant, guests are treated to a serene setting and award winning cuisine. There are numerous hiking trails and waterfalls nearby to explore. Or simply relax and enjoy the picturesque setting of the inn with extensive herb and flower gardens, swimming pool, sun deck and expansive meadow where you'll often see deer grazing. Glen-Ella Springs was also named to National Georgraphic Traveler's Stay List 150 in 2008 and has been recognized as one of the Top Ten Dining Destination (in the state)by Georgia Trend Magazine since 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Glen-Ella Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen-Ella Springs Hotel Clarkesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen-Ella Springs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.