We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet retreat with great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Glen-Ella Springs Inn to your Saves list
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1789 Bear Gap Road, Clarkesville, GA 30523   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Clarkesville B&B and Inns
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful quiet retreat with great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stay for the weekend to celebrate our 8th wedding anniversary. It is defintely an escape from reality. Beautiful surroundings in the middle of nowhere. We had a great time. The pancakes on Sunday morning, melt in your mouth. They are sooooooo fantastic.

Room Tip: Queen rooms very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    37
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
181
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My family visits Lake Rabun in northeast Georgia often. When we visit, we have had dinner at Glen-Ella Springs Inn and thought it was magnificent. This past weekend was my anniversary, and I decided to take my wife for a night away. We had a king room, and it was extremely nice, with a very comfortable bed. The bath ammenities were nice. There are no telephones and no TV (there are in a garden house) which was an added plus. The Inn is situated in the north Georgia forest, and is an old hotel/homestead. It looks like an old stagecoach inn that has been rennovated and decorated tastefully. The garden is magnificent, the pool is nice, and there seemed to be hundreds of rocking chairs perched along porches all around the inn. On the garden, my wife and I decided that it is actually a hummingbird convention center. Watching the hummingbirds was my favorite part of the stay, except for the food. We had a great dinner (as good as anything I have experienced elsewhere) and it deserves the award received as one of the Top Ten Dining Destinations in Georgia. I could go on and on, and my wife and I could have stayed for a week, but alas, we had to leave. We will be back. Our name here is KidsGoToo. On that point, we used it as a romantic getaway, but I saw children there and what was fantastic about that was the children seemed to have fun and were well behaved. I think the parents had something to do with that, but Glen Ella has a "family" policy of having everyone (guests included) hold down the noise after 10 pm. It was done very tastefully and becuase of that policy, I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Cozy and historical accomodations nestled in the foothills of northeast Georgia near Clarkesville. This former stagecoach inn is surrounded by gorgeous natural splendor and hosts a beautiful flower garden ajoining the restaurant's sheltered patio. Our gourmet meals were further enhanced by the presence of lovely native butterflies and hummingbirds lured to exotic fragrances emitted by thousands of flowering plants! A refreshing pool awaited us after hiking the area's wonderful nature trails. Our arrival was greeted by a prearranged bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries to get our romantic 40th anniversary getaway started. All staff members were friendly and courteous throughout our stay and we anxiously await our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Lovely bed and breakfast set deep into the woods - Our room was located on the backside of the inn on the 2nd floor - Right outside our room door was a porch that ran the length of our building - During our stay we enjoyed sitting on the porch and looking at the pool area below us, the inn's large manicured lawn in front of us, and the inn's garden area to the side of us, all while listening to the birds singing and flitting through trees - We took breakfast on the inn's covered outside porch, overlooking the inn's gardens - Breakfast during our 3 day stay was different each day and was always of good quality and served by very attentive, pleasant staff - One morning of our stay we were treated to being served by the inn's owner, himself, Ed - Our one dinner at the inn was excellent - Daytime we entertained ourselves with nearby Clarkesville, Sautee, and Unicoi - Highlight of our trip was fireworks on Lake Rabun on a pontoon boat, which the inn had arranged as part of thier 4th of July package

Room Tip: ask for a room on the backside of the inn, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is truly outstanding and amazing place in the middle of the forest. The Inn is unique - being built from wood it's very natural and cozy, it was very relaxing just being there. Food and wines at the restaurant are very good. The only thing I would improve is the WiFi which was not accessible in all of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We had a most beautiful evening drinking wine on the porch in rocking chairs and eating delicious fruits and cheeses, followed by a fantastic trout dinner. Glen-Ella was quiet and charming, with a lovely garden and a great pool. In the morning we watched deer in the meadow while enjoying our breakfast. I wanted to give my British boyfriend a real taste of the South, and I think he appreciated it all, from the good food to the hospitality to the golden afternoon sunshine lighting the meadow as we took a stroll over to the tree swing. We had a perfect night, and I'd like to send everyone I know here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We had heard good things about Glen-Ella and it lived up to all of the accolades from friends. We enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and the walk in the meadow behind the inn. Both dinner and breakfast were very well done and the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen-Ella Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-Ella Springs Inn

Address: 1789 Bear Gap Road, Clarkesville, GA 30523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Clarkesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Clarkesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen-Ella Springs Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of Atlanta, sits this historic country inn, nestled on 17 acres in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Featuring 16 elegant yet rustic guest rooms and a fine dining restaurant, guests are treated to a serene setting and award winning cuisine. There are numerous hiking trails and waterfalls nearby to explore. Or simply relax and enjoy the picturesque setting of the inn with extensive herb and flower gardens, swimming pool, sun deck and expansive meadow where you'll often see deer grazing. Glen-Ella Springs was also named to National Georgraphic Traveler's Stay List 150 in 2008 and has been recognized as one of the Top Ten Dining Destination (in the state)by Georgia Trend Magazine since 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Glen-Ella Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen-Ella Springs Hotel Clarkesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen-Ella Springs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.