We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Brick Pit Barbeque

Old Brick Pit Barbeque
4805 Peachtree Rd, Chamblee, GA 30341-3113
770-986-7727
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 51 restaurants in Chamblee
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Local BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A co-worker brought me here for lunch, and this place did not disappoint! The service was excellent, and the meat had a really nice flavor. The sauce was a little sweet for my taste, but it still had a really good flavor. The stew here was really good, too. If they had some sauce that was a little spicier, I'd have given it another star!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    14
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Still searching for the perfect spare rib, almost there...but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very good but not great spare ribs. Tried a half rack as a sampler take out w/ slaw...slaw was fresh, tasty.
The ribs were a bit fatty and slightly overcooked (chewy) The rub was fine not overdone. Ribs were meaty with well smoked flavor, packaged in heavy foil and plastic bag. no box. Service was quietly subdued and fast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Some of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a pretty unique place. Originally a Brazier Burger it was converted to a BBQ place several years ago. I really like their chopped pork. Also like their stew and slaw. Sauce is just a little hot which is the way I like it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, GA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An old fave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I grew up going to "Old Brick"......love the bbq and atmosphere in this small hidden treasure! It is totally worth the stop - perfect for lunch and take out (especially for a gathering!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Darn Good BBQ (especially the Brunswick Stew)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have passed this place so many times in the past…but this time it was lunch time, we were hungry, and finally decided to give this place a try – we are so glad we did. This is now our favorite BBQ place in Atlanta…would go here just for the Brunswick Stew.

The Atmosphere –
Easy to get to/find as it’s on Peachtree just down from Lowe’s and looks like an old Red Barn. Ample Parking. When you walk in the door you are hit with a strong smoky/BBQ scent (in a good way). Typical BBQ Restaurant layout/décor – Not overly fancy, but very clean. Bathrooms were clean and water in the sink was nice and hot (perfect after eating Ribs). Standard BBQ Dinnerware – plastic forks/Styrofoam plates.

The Food –

Combination Plate (BBQ Pork, 3 Ribs, Brunswick Stew, Cole Slaw & Bread)– The Ribs were “fall off the bone” tender and very tasty – finished with a standard (not too sweet) BBQ sauce. The Chopped Pork was also good and plentifully piled on the plate – made better by their Vinegar based sauce. Cole Slaw was perfectly sweet (so many places make it too sweet). The Brunswick Stew was the best I have ever had…I normally don’t like Brunswick Stew because most places make it way too sweet (just like Cole Slaw), but not here - Old Brick Pit’s Brunswick Stew has plenty of meat and a Great Taste without being overly sweet.

BBQ Pork Sandwich – Pretty Standard Pork Sandwich – nothing special about the bun (but it was soft). I think I've found I like a Vinegar Based Sauce because it’s thinner than standard BBQ sauces which leaves just enough on the meat to moisten and flavor without overwhelming it. The meat was piled high.

Potato Salad – It was good and fresh.

The Service –
Old Brick Pit is a counter service place, but they were friendly and the food came out quickly.

The Value –
Reasonably priced…Really Good Food…so Great Value!

Conclusion –
This is definitely our new “Go To” BBQ Place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Brick Pit Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Old Brick Pit Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Brick Pit Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.