We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go to this hotel if you have small children” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Savoy Drive, Chamblee, GA 30341   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Chamblee
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not go to this hotel if you have small children”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to our relatives and that we needed a kitchen and a family friendly environment. If you have small children, do not come here. The two bedroom units are loft style so there are stairs and an open bedroom above the other bedroom. The hotel does not provide baby gates and if your kids need to nap it's impossible with a loft room. On top of it all, there is construction right outside our window, and three staff people banged on our door when I had the do not disturb sign on, and had already complained that I was trying to put my kid down for a nap and couldn't with all the banging. So all the banging on our door woke my daughter up three times so that she didn't nap for the day. For a parent, you know how this effects your day. No high chairs either even though when I made reservations they said we'd have a high chair in our room but when we arrived said they don't provide high chairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    8
    9
    12
See reviews for
19
11
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. I was pleasantly surprised at how well I liked this hotel after reading other reviews that were not as complimentary. The rooms were clean, housekeeping came in daily and brought fresh towels and straightened things up. The complimentary breakfast was satisfactory, the juices home was not working but they still supplied juice in carafes. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you will be staying for multiple nights.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Better than expected. Friendly, welcoming desk clerk. Everything was clean, spacious, kitchen was awesome, bed was comfy. My only complaint was that I like very hot showers but the water never got hot, just warm.
I also choose hotels for free breakfast - the breakfast was pretty good - only real complaint was that there was only 1 waffle maker and the line/wait was too long for a waffle.
Other than the shower not getting hot and the long wait for the waffle maker, the room was great and the staff was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very quiet, with comfortable bed and pillows. I got a very good night's sleep. I came equipped with a box of sani-wipes because of other reviews, but kitchen, bathroom, and bedding were all spotless. Only complaint was that the room needed better dusting. I am just staying one night, but i would definitely consider this for a longer work stay. My room was on the back side.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, Ca.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was in Dunwoody for a funeral so had no expections as to lodging. Arrangements were made for family to stay at this property. Wow, what a wonderful surprise. The room i had was a suite with a king bed on the first floor and a loft with a king on the send floor. The floor plan so well thought out and the amenities were the right type and located just in the right spot where they are most convient. The rooms and the public areas were in tiptop shape. The full hot breakfast was fresh, diversified, and very good. All the staff were a pleasure to be around. They were just a delight. My hats off to the management for having a consistant, well managed product.

Room Tip: Second floor suites are in the rear of the property is the best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Residence Inn is like most others I've stayed in, except that our 2 bedroom had a loft as the second bedroom. The kids love the loft, but note that it is not walled off so whoever is sleeping in it may be woken at night by noises in the kitchen or living room area. 2 bedroom also had a wood burning fireplace. The rooms could use updating, particularly the carpet, but were clean. The beds were average, pillows small and thin, shower had good pressure and was adjustable, and we appreciate the full kitchen. Wi-fi in room worked fine. The business center is one computer that was out of order, but the front desk helped us get our boarding passes printed. The room included hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage patties, potatoes and cereal/muffins - fine for free breakfast, but not as good as most restaurants. The location is quiet, and you have to drive a short distance across the Interstate for groceries and a few restaurants, then will need to go a few miles further for much of a selection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The long term stay hotel was once a new concept, but that was a very long time ago. I think it fair to say that the genre has gone pretty much as far as it can go, and the reality is that these hotels are all pretty much the same - you know what you are getting - and perhaps that "familiarity" is what some travelers are looking for in a long stay hotel. So if that truly is what you want, you will find it here, only the facility feels relatively new and so is a bit less worn them lost.

The problem is that frequently you are not staying at a place like this for a long stay, just for a few nights, and if that is the case a place like this is just like any other place like this. You could be anywhere, and for that reason why stay here?

So for the lifer.... For a value long term stay hotel where you want a real kitchen and a larger living area then the typical hotel room, this is pretty much what you would expect. If you are looking for amenities, boutique, and some personality and maybe even fun, this is definitely not the place for you.

Here are a few other points. You absolutely positively need a car.There is little to nothing within a close walk. A long block or so away are a Tex Mex Restaurant, a Bowling Alley and an Italian Restaurant, and malls are near by but you need a car.

The breakfast is predictable and slightly better then a typical muffin in a bag, but again what you would expect in a long residence places of this sort. In all fairness they even have some healthy offerings including fresh fruit, yoghurt, oatmeal as well as the typical sweet muffin and waffle machine.

So with this hotel and so many exactly like it, you know what you are getting - it is predictable, but dull. Fine for a stay if you must, but with so many Hotels in Atlanta that have more interesting offerings, the chances are that you are considering being there either because you have family or business near by. If this is the case, then by all means book here, but if you have a choice of location, there is really not much here to distinguish it from any number of hotels just like it all over the area.

Room Tip: The "penthouse" which is sold as a 2 bedroom is really a 1 bedroom (with flimsy door) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody

Address: 1901 Savoy Drive, Chamblee, GA 30341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Chamblee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Chamblee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody features new suites and updated Gatehouse lobby, making your stay more comfortable and convenient than ever before. Guests can take advantage of complimentary breakfasts each morning, evening socials and our spacious suites offer all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody Hotel Chamblee
Chamblee Residence Inn
Residence Inn Chamblee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Atlanta Perimeter/Dunwoody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.