We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frosty Caboose

Frosty Caboose
5435 Peachtree Rd., Chamblee, GA 30341
770-451-4556
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Chamblee
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a great little place. Got shakes and a Sunday. There is a mini cone for little ones free. My littlest one loved it! We went with the family. My only complaint is that there are no chairs or tables to sit down. But in the back of the parking lot there are some wooden planters and train tracks. We followed the crowd and everyone was hanging out there with the kids and watching the trains. It was fun. We walked on some tracks that weren't in use and the kids loved it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mouth-gasmic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Such great ice cream, fresh toppings, and service with a smile. What more do you need? Oh and it's served from a train caboose. WIN WIN. Love this place!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamblee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream, Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a small, family owned and operated ice cream stand right next to the Norfolk & Southern Railway tracks in Historic Chamblee, GA. The business is inside a specially-modified real caboose. This is a stand-up place - literally; that is, there is no seating. You belly-up to the order window get your desert, and eat it outside. There are several benches and tables nearby, so seating isn't a problem. They have many flavors, sundaes, etc., all made with locally-made, high-fat content Greenwood ice cream. They also have low fat, Italian ices, sorbets, to suit any taste. Their specialty is the Caboose Wheels, which I recommend highly. If you've just finished a meal at nearby Oga's, you might as well top it off with a Chocolate Fetish sundae or Caboose Wheels at the Frosty Caboose. You’ll be glad you did.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Too tempting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

It's so hard not to stop in for a scoop or two after a relaxing lunch at Vintage Pizza across the street. Fun place to go, with so many choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely adorable ice cream shop in the heart of quaint Chamblee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Whether you live in the are or in nearby Brookhaven, Dunwoody or Sandy Springs, you should check out the Frosty Caboose. Built inside of an old Caboose, the ice cream shop serves Chamblee made Greenwood Ice Cream. You can't beat the local connection. Rumor has it the owners actually had the caboose shipped in from somwhere out west. Any way you look at it the concept is cool. The people at the window are nice, the location is easy to get to and the ice cream is great! On just about any evening this summer we've seen a number of folks getting ice cream and hanging around because it's just cool to see the caboose up close and personal. And, not just because we are in Georgia, we recommend the Peach Ice Cream!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frosty Caboose also viewed

 

Been to Frosty Caboose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frosty Caboose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.