We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in an historic district” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian Grill

Appalachian Grill
14 E Church St, Cartersville, GA 30120-3202
770-607-5357
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 135 Restaurants in Cartersville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in an historic district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you are in Cartersville, you must go to the Appalachian Grill in the downtown historic district "under the bridge". There are several small shops on the same street that are great to peek in! The restaurant seems very popular with both travelers and locals. The service was friendly, efficient, and pleasant. The food was very good. We both had the Smoky Mountain Trout and a great glass of Green Truck Chardonnay. The salads came with delicious cranberry cornbread in the shape of a fish. The decor is cozy and the bar is popular as well. We definitely will go back whenever we are in the area!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    63
    23
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Appalachian Grill has the best Reuben sandwich I have ever had. All of the food is of great quality. The staff was great. We enjoy eating here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good food and service with country music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I was at first scared when reading the last june 13 reviews. We were a party of 8 and I confirm that they couldn't set one table for all of us. They offered to split with the 2 tables in front of each other which was fine.
Among the guests some had entrecôte, some the burgers and myself the Appalachian plate. Everything was really good. We had our parents visiting from France and all found that the meat was the best they have had in US. It was so good that we decided to try some desserts and here as well they were awesome. We only ordered 3 desserts but they brought some additional plates and spoons to share.
I can only recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Ribeye was rotten”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My ribeye was rotten!!!!!!! The server acted offended that I didn't want to pay for it. There was no manager on duty and I was sick the majority of the next day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I don't know if there's been a change in ownership, or whatever, but this once delightful restaurant has really disappointed us in the last few months. They've changed the menu, taking off lamb and pork roasts, which they did so well. We had prime rib, which was flavorless and tough. Baked potatoes had been sitting around or were overlooked. Service was okay, well paced.
It used to be standing room only on a Saturday night ... Not anymore - we were seated right away at 7 pm. Lots of empty booths. That seemed to confirm that the changes made have not been for the better.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.