We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Border Mexican Restaurant

The Border Mexican Restaurant
1210 Maple St, Carrollton, GA 30117-4227 (Formerly Border Mexican Restaurant)
770-214-2912
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Carrollton
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were very surprised at the quality of food at this restaurant. Since my wife and I are Lovers of Mexican food we try to venture out and try new places whenever possible. We found this place through restaurant.com and it was well worth the drive which was about 30 miles from our home. The food was excellent and although not quite "Authentic" Mexican it was far better than most of the Americanized Mexican places we have tried. The service was fast and friendly and I hope to become a regular customer. Prices are reasonable and with a coupon from restaurant.com it is unbeatable! If you are the partying type there is a full bar on the lower level which I have no doubt is full of people on the weekends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Take it from someone who knows...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

This place is gather best! I worked there in college and I can say first hand that it's very clean and well managed. It's got a great atmosphere and the people there are great. I miss it all the time!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fine for the college kids.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hasn't had anything above mediocre food since it was renovated years ago. The margaritas aren't worth the calories. Their version of a "top shelf" margarita is just doubled average tequila in the same size glass. The cheese dip, which used to be flavorful, has been tasteless lately. Twice my rice has been scorched. The last few times I've gone with friends, at least one of our orders were wrong and last week when I went with a group two people sent their meals back because they were inedible. I don't know how you can mess up basic, Americanized Mexican food. It's simple food, but this restaurant can't even do that well lately. If all you want is chips and salsa or fajitas, it's fine, but otherwise, head a few blocks down the street to the competition.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices, fun place to entertain guests!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

From Family outings to college hang outs, great place to be. Good food, fast service excellent prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fajita's hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Tons of Mexican restaurants in Carrollton. However, this one all ways has great food and is so large there is always somewhere to sit. Service is always super fast and the chips very fresh. The fish tacos are also very good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Border Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Border Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Border Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.