We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Calhoun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Calhoun to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Calhoun
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1033 Fairmount Highway, Calhoun, GA 30701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok for a one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Pros: Hotel looks like it has been refurbished recently. Room was clean. Bathroom was roomy and clean with new counter tops and curved shower curtain rod which is nice. Plenty of towels. Breakfast was good enough. Waffles, eggs, canadian bacon, oatmeal, muffins, toast, cereal. Was easy to find off the highway. Cracker Barrel ,Logan's Steakhouse and several fast food restaurants close by. Outlet mall just down the street. Had a coupon we found on travelcoupon.com that gave us a little bit of a discount.
Cons: It smelled old, a little musty even though it looked new. Using the air conditioner made the smell worse. Towels were not very big. The hot tub was low on water and it had a frothy sudsy layer which I have never seen in a hot tub before. Beds were very hard and the pillows were flat and not comfy at all. Had an old timey bedspread/cover. Was a horrible nights sleep for me. Keep hearing a thumping/bumping noise during the night. Not sure if it was the air conditioning unit or what. The breakfast area was very small. Never any cookies out when we were in the Lobby. Had a big old tv and the remote didn't work. Said we had HBO channels but could never find them on the tv. Overall, I guess it was ok but we would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear 'Suzeq62'

I am so sorry for all the issues you had at the hotel. Please call me directly at 706-625-6500 so we can address all that went wrong during your stay. I would love to be able to host you again, and look forward to being able to assist you!

Yours In Hospitality,
Ashley Layton

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    42
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
63
31
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stay here every time we drive from the Midwest to Orlando and back as we travel with our two dogs. One is special needs; he is orthopedically challenged and refuses to walk on the wood floors in the lobby!!! The staff is always kind and understanding and helpful about that. The rooms are clean and well-stocked. Families seeem to use and enjoy the indoor pool and whirlpool. My one criticism is that maintenance issues are very slow to be addressed (like the inoperable side doors on the first floor, and the breakfast seems to have lost some quality over the past few years. The internet service could use some upgrades and improvement, too. It is not secure. Yet we find still find this motel a great place to stay. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear 'MFHoosier',

As always we love when you and your precious dogs come in. I can say on behalf of all of the staff, we all fell in love with them! I am sorry to hear about some of the issues you had ,if you would like to call me directly please do so at 706-625-6500. We welcome anything thats helps us grow and make a better hotel. Can't wait to see you guys again soon!

Yours In Hosptiality,
Ashley Layton

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Sherri is fanTAStic--I've traveled a lot, and she's the best hotel clerk / receptionist I've ever met! The rest of the staff is great, too--Kimberly, Jacqueline, Blake, and all the rest (I've met them all but don't remember all their names!). This is the best deal in Calhoun, and better than any deal in Dalton. The rooms are large, there's a microwave and fridge (pretty big one!) in literally EVERY room. Housekeeping always keeps everything tidy and replenishes everything. The *only* thing I don't like is the hot breakfast, but that's easy to fix, and if you're not relying on that anyway, it won't matter:)

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but if you have a problem with yours, they will switch it gladly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Country Inn and Suites in Calhoun, GA and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the occasion to welcome you back again and to exceed your expectations on your next stay.

Yours in Hospitality,

Ashley Layton
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We spent two nights at the Calhoun Country Inn and Suites.

PROS: Sherry, the desk clerk, is amazingly sweet. The cookies are very good. They readily switched our room and even upgraded us when there was a problem.

CONS: Unfortunately, several of the NONSMOKING rooms truly smell like SMOKE. The suite that we finally ended up in is very lovely, BUT... we didn't notice that the door wouldn't lock until after we had already unloaded all of our stuff for our 2 night stay. They kindly offered yet another room, but eventually they figured out that we could close the door with an upward motion and it would lock. That was great, so we spent the night there.

We woke up in the morning to find that the toilet had not been flushing all night, so we alerted the desk clerk and headed out for a few hours. When we returned, the toilet was still broken AND the door to the room was not closed all the way. The maid had cleaned, but she didn't know to be careful about the broken door. Fortunately, nothing was missing from our room.

The maintenance person was available that day, so he plunged the toilet and fixed the door.

All is well that ends well, but overall the hotel is just average.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Blairsville,

Thank you so much for your positive comments on our hotel. But the negative was what concerned me the most. I am so very sorry about the issues you had during your stay with us. At Country Inn and Suites we love our guests and we want them to feel right at home when they walk in the door. Please contact me so we may talk further about the situation. You may contact me at the office at 706-625-6500.

Yours in Hospitality,

Ashley Layton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stopped here on our way back from Florida. We had a coupon to get a deal, but it would have been worth the full price. Room was spacious with sofafed, king bed, and sitting area. Staff was very friendly and hotel was very clean. The breakfast served was good, with hot and cold selections. We didn't use it because it was very busy on a Saturday night, but the pool was indoors and heated. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear 'kjk47150',

We are so glad to read your review sharing what a pleasant stay you had with us! Thank you so much for your kind words and letting people know about the coupon booklet! Its a great thing to have traveling anywhere! Should you visit the Calhoun area again in the future, please do consider returning to us and at that time we invite you to contact the hotel direct when making your reservation, as we do value our guests greatly and are always sure to honor your loyalty! Thank you again and we wish you the best in travel!

With sincere gratitude,

Ashley Layton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed in room #413. We used the travel magazine coupon and got the room for $65.00 + tax. The room was VERY clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast in the morning had a nice selection. Warm cookies in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank You so much for your wonderful review!! I have shared your kind words about our desk staff to them and they all are very grateful and would love to host you again! If you are ever in the Calhoun area again come on by!!!

Yours in Hospitality,

Ashley Layton
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed here when we couldn't drive anymore. Used a coupon from a GA travel book. They honored the coupon, no problem. Rooms were nice and spacious. Bed was disappointing...not very comfy, flat pillows, and fitted sheets that come off the bed. Had a fridge in the room and an old TV. Bathroom was very roomy. Full complete breakfast was awesome...waffles, oatmeal, pastries, cereal, etc. Was perfect for a quick stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnCalhoun71, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Calhoun, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad we were able to assist you with your travel home! We are very proud of our new and improved "be our Guest" breakfast and would love to have you join us again! If ever passing through please stop by.

Thanks again,

Ashley Layton
Director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Calhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Calhoun

Address: 1033 Fairmount Highway, Calhoun, GA 30701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Calhoun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Calhoun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Calhoun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Calhoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Calhoun Hotel Calhoun
Country Inn And Suites Calhoun
Country Inn Calhoun
Calhoun Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Calhoun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.