We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christian and Jake's Bistro

Christian and Jake's Bistro
Hwy 53, Calhoun, GA
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Calhoun
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Very Nice Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recent health score 93.
This is a fine addition to a town not exactly known for its restaurant scene.
It's a bustling locale a little west of I-75.
The menu features a very large selection of salads, soups and sandwiches. We enjoyed the soup de jour, beef vegetable, and the chicken Caesar salad. The service was good, the portions generous, the prices fair.
Definitely recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Passing the Goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

While visiting a friend in Calhoun, GA, I was delighted to find this restaurant as a grandchild spin-off of my favorite restaurant in Dalton, GA, Spiced Apple. Two grandsons of the owner of Spiced Apple have opened a duplicate of their grandma's restaurant. The sandwiches come on home baked bread. My favorite is the Onion Poppy Seed. After choosing a bread, have them fill it with one of many choices listed on the menu. Soups are fresh. Salads come with homemade dressings. BUT beware don't eat too much, YOU CANNOT MISS the homemade desserts. Varies cheesecakes and cakes fill the display, but I've never eaten them, because I can't get passed the crème pie assortments that are available. Imagine the fluffiest, creamiest, coconut pie with crunchy crust, you can and then visualize yourself forking it into your mouth slowly so you can savor it for a long time. The chocolate cream pies are just as mouthwatering. This restaurant is very accessible from I75 if you are traveling between Dalton, GA and Atlanta, GA.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Lunch Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I always enjoy eating at Christian and Jakes. They have the best soups and desserts. The cream of asparagus and the lobster bisque is awesome. :)

The desserts...what can I say....they rock.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“YUMMY Boar's Head meats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Deliciousness! HIgh prices but it's almost a half pound of meat on a sandwich! Delicious! It was clean and neat and HUGE desserts to choose from!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Why then, eat fast food?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A bistro in Calhoun? A mile west off of I-75 on GA53? Why would anyone choose the junk fast food eateries that line the highway then?

Driving hungrily from Nashville to Atlanta, these questions came to mind as we pulled into a neat cafe/deli-like eatery. We were pleasantly surprised what we saw, blown away with the diverse menu, and really enjoyed A+ service (Steven) to go along with the fine food. Had the salad more greens than iceberg alone, it would've got 5-star rating. Can't wait to return as I drive that leg often. Nicely done, C&J's!

Yelnak

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christian and Jake's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Christian and Jake's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christian and Jake's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.