We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Legacy Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Buford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Fun in the sun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was looking for a mini vacation spot for my husband and I and 2 children. I was a little Leary after reading some of the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in one of the lake houses and just loved it. There was more than enough room for us to move around and the boys had their own room and TV.
The water park was a lot of fun, we enjoyed all our meals at Giani's and at the Bullfrog restaurant. Everything was very good. We have stayed at many resorts all over the country and this one was right up there on our favorites.
The horseback riding was fun and the people running the stables were very professional. Next time we go we will try the zip lining. It was booked up this time.

Room Tip: For families the Lake house is perfect. We drove our car to the water park and resort but they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadwick_Meyer, Resident Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We like to say a big, "Thank You" for your recent review of the property. We're glad you were able to take in a lot of the different activities around the resort to get the full resort experience. We'll see you next time on the zip lines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    100
    57
    36
    13
See reviews for
178
74
6
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times for meetings in the area. Once on the resort you are pretty much stuck there. There is nothing for miles away. One restaurant and one bar in same place. The people are friendly but food and drinks are expensive

Room Tip: Request first floor rooms that have a sliding door to sit outside and relax by lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadwick_Meyer, Resident Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for taking your time to review the property. We're sorry that you weren't able to experience more of the property, such as the 2 restaurants and bars lakeside at Sunset Cove and LanierWorld. We hope that you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great service and beautiful setting! Resort pricing. We enjoyed dinner at Sunset Cove and breakfast on the patio at Windows. The poolside service was great! I think this resort would be a good destination in the Fall as well as the summer. They had several outdoor firepits. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The walk out rooms are great for easy access to the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadwick_Meyer, Resident Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your recent review. It sounds like you were able to take in some different areas of the resort. We hope to see you again in the future to experience even more of the property. We are indeed working towards becoming a 4-season resort, especially with the recent addition of our heated saltwater pool, which will be enclosed later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our stay at the Legacy Lodge was above our expectations. Everyone was very pleasant and inviting! Bullfrogs was an excellent choice for lunch by the pool, and Lanier World was amazing!! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadwick_Meyer, Resident Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the property. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Rooms were small & not updated. Food was mediocre. Don't set your expectations too high. Bullfrogs restaurant didn't have a large selection of healthy food, mor bar food. Very few tables as the back of restaurant is held for wedding party.

Room Tip: Don't book a lower level, felt like a basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadwick_Meyer, Resident Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your recent experience here at Legacy Lodge. We hope that you will consider trying us again in the future for your travel destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Legacy Lodge (and all of Lake Lanier) is apparently under new management. The rooms are still small and over priced. The gorgeous salt water pool was full of leaves and an empty beer cup. My family and I visited the restaurant on site and while the service was good, the food was average and I sent my drink back twice due to a strong soapy taste I didnt see any other families on the property, just large groups of corporate types (mostly drunk and obnoxious).
We spent two days at the water park and while there was great potential, most of the attractions were closed (Sunny weather in late May).We ill take another chance at the water park, but will NEVER stay at the Legacy Lodge again.

Room Tip: The Suite is only slightly larger and includes a fireplace, but is $45 more expensive and ot on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadwick_Meyer, Resident Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
First of all, thanks for taking the time to review our property. We're sorry to hear about your experience at the hotel and water park. We do hope that you return to give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

When we checked in, the front desk personnel was awesome. Our room location was great. The room is a bit small compared to a hotel we stayed in last year. Our first day, housekeeping came in just to place new towels but did not clean the room. We had to call it in after lunch. They eventually came at around 4pm. But the next couple of days were ok. The concierge and the front desk staff always greeted us with a smile. There was coffee in the room. You could just ask the concierge at the lobby for cold water. You can rent a golf cart to go around the resort. The pool was warm. We had a nice swim. We drove around the resort to see what else is there. You can camp. They have a huge water park. We saw fireworks one night. Overall, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadwick_Meyer, Resident Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us here at Legacy Lodge. We hope that you return again to enjoy even more of the resort when you have more time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518
Location: United States > Georgia > Buford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buford
#1 Business Hotel in Buford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the shores of Lake Sidney Lanier, Lanier Islands boasts 1,500 scenic acres perfect for active families, romantic couples, corporate groups and solo travelers alike. Guests may choose from a variety of onsite activities and amenities to curate the perfect experience year round, from a water park to diverse dining options and a spa. Additionally, this lakeside Georgia resort offers over 23,000 square feet of flexible event space and professional services for successful conferences, retreats, weddings, and other events. Luxurious amenities and unparalleled natural beauty come standard with your stay, which will surely be treasured long after your bags have been unpacked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Legacy Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Lodge And Conference Center
Legacy Hotel Buford
Legacy Resort Buford
Emerald Point Lake Lanier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.