We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds, comfortable lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Legacy Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Buford
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds, comfortable lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Was surprised at the level of finished throughout the lodge and on the grounds. Great place to come for a weekend with the family - activities for kids of most ages. Large pool to swim in at the lodge, and a gorgeous gas fireplace at one end of the pool to relax around. Great vistas of the lake, and every room has a balcony. Food was good although not great, and service was without exception friendly and welcoming.

The rooms are medium sized. I found my mattress too stiff, but that may have simply been my taste. Clean and well maintained, HBO and on demand movies in the room. Although the finish and the comfort level aren't quite like the Reynold's Plantation Ritz Carlton, it is closer than you would think, and half the price (or less)!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your very detailed review of the property and your experience while staying here. We're happy to share these comments with our staff and hope that your conference again chooses Legacy Lodge & Conference Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    84
    53
    32
    13
See reviews for
161
62
6
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The views of the lake are spectacular in this location. The hotel has well appointed rooms and nice amenities on property. The staff was kind and accommodating during my stay. The thing holding back a higher rating was the lack of a few amenities that are more standard in hotels of this caliber. I would have expected a room safe. That was not available. Some of the major cable channels were not available, impeding guest ability to watch sporting events. And, at check in I was placed in a room that still had dirty laundry from the previous occupant.

The staff was solid at hearing my concerns, and those that could be remedied were addressed quickly and to my satisfaction. However not having a safe in the room and not having access to standard entertainment are concerns especially troublesome when at a location as remote as this.

The pool, the fire pits, the event areas and the conference center were well appointed and had very good wireless internet service. The food was well prepared and the catering services were solid. The meetings space accommodated my group nicely. We had sessions for 225 plus that were just as well organized as sessions for 20. Rooms were ready in a timely manner and were clean. Overall, it was a very good experience with a few key missteps that prevented it from being truly exceptional.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are not on lobby level, that is the 3rd floor. The rooms on the lake side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experience at check-in and rest assured that we have already discussed this issue with housekeeping.

Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a beautiful lake! I am from NC so this was my first trip to Lake Lanier and I will say it was a easy drive and well worth the effort. My best friend and I needed some "girl" time and the double queen room with the nice lake view was perfect! The staff could not have been any nicer or done anything any better! The room was great and the tub was awesome after a day zip-lining and horseback riding! There are so many things you can do right on site that we stayed busy until dark! Then we had a real good meal down stairs and took a good drink up stairs to our balcony to catch up on old times!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from wedding parties!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are so happy to hear that your visit with your best friend was fun and you both enjoyed horseback riding and zip lining! It is our hope that you plan a return trip very soon! Our Magical Nights of Lights begins soon in November. We hope to see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Coming here to a workshop everything was made to be so easy I didn't have to worry about a thing. The service at the front desk and Bullfrog restaurant was personal and positive. Really friendly and helpful. Gorgeous lake right there and beautiful rooms with comfy beds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We thank you so much for your kind words regarding your most recent stay with us here at Lake Lanier Islands Resort. We are proud to share your positive comments with our front desk and Bullfrogs staff. We hope to see you and your group back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived very late in the day and left early the next day. While there, we spent a lot of time in the lobby. The Front Desk Staff and the Front Door Staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. It was pretty hot outside, so we were offered multiple bottles of cold water which I appreciated. This is a very large resort which you enter on the 3rd Floor which feels like the main floor until you look outside and realize the hotel is built on a hill side. It's a beautiful setting on Lake Lanier. My only regret is I wish we had more time to enjoy the facility and the amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We so appreciate your wonderful compliments during your recent stay with us here at Lake Lanier Islands Resort. Our Front Desk and Bell/Concierge staff will be pleased to hear of your kind review. Our Magical Night of Lights will begin in November and we hope to see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful location, wonderful staff. A few things that weren't great...no shower caps in the bathroom. Okay, not a major issue. I am sure staff would have provided one if asked, but come on, luxury resort, no shower cap? Toilet was stiff to flush but bedroom and bathroom were gorgeous. Nice pool. Snacks served were very good, breakfast was good but a few difficulties at the lunch. The main course looked unappetizing but tasted very good. The apple pie for desert was just okay. The major issue was it appeared they did not have enough wait staff to adequately service the number of people present, resulting in long delays or simply, not getting service at all. However, it was okay. The lodge itself, the location and the politeness pretty much compensated for the minor issues. Wish I had had more time to enjoy the site...maybe another time.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are nice, but even better, a villa. Try not to get too close to the ice machine thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We appreciate your feedback during your most recent stay with us here at Lake Lanier Islands Resort. We thank you for your compliments to our staff and that you enjoyed the beauty of Legacy Lodge and the surrounding landscape. Please accept our apologies on not having an adequate number of personnel to properly service your lunch. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

the facility is lovely, all staff VERY attentive. meeting rooms were comfortable, with drinks and munchies always available. lunch, however, was not good at all. no one at table could identify what it was. lodging rooms are a bit small for price, bathroom was clean and well appointed. i liked the balcony overlooking the lake and privacy. have to repeat: the staff was super friendly and helpful. great setting for a conference.

Room Tip: room w view of lake - the view and privacy made up for the small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback during your last stay with us here at Lake Lanier Islands Resort. Your kind words regarding our staff and meeting space accommodations are most appreciated and we will make sure we pass this along to the appropriate departments. We do apologize for the negative lunch experience. It is our hope that you will be planning a return trip back here to Legacy Lodge. The balconies from our rooms boast a great view of the leaves changing colors in the Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Buford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buford
#1 Business Hotel in Buford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the shores of Lake Sidney Lanier, Lake Lanier Islands Resort boasts 1,500 scenic acres perfect for active families, romantic couples, corporate groups and solo travelers alike. Guests may choose from a variety of onsite activities and amenities to curate the perfect experience year round, from a water park to diverse dining options and a spa. Additionally, this lakeside Georgia resort offers over 23,000 square feet of flexible event space and professional services for successful conferences, retreats, weddings, and other events. Luxurious amenities and unparalleled natural beauty come standard with your stay, which will surely be treasured long after your bags have been unpacked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Legacy Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Lodge And Conference Center
Legacy Hotel Buford
Legacy Resort Buford
Emerald Point Lake Lanier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.