We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, dated rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Legacy Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Buford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, dated rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The entrance (if you don't get lost) is beautiful. The drive in, the hotel exterior, and the lounge/check in are all wonderful. That is much different once you walk down the hall to your room. It is at this point that it becomes much like any other older hotel. We had a king room with a shower. The bathrooms were very nice and the shower was clean and roomy. The room wasn't horrible, but it wasn't something to brag about either. The rooms are definitely not luxury. I guess for the price, I was dissapointed.
We were there between Christmas and New Years so we were not able to take advantage of all the trails and other things the lake may offer. Perhaps this is what you're paying for, because the "lodging" part of the Legacy Lodge is not worth the price.

The breakfast buffet was delicious. Expensive, but good. Food was an issue...not many choices. Everything we ate was really good, but again, not many choices. The bar was not open very late which caused us to have to crowd into one of our rooms to finish watching whatever game was on tv that night. Nothing like making a 30 minute beer run (it was a 15 min drive to any gas station) and packing into a hotel room to watch the game. But again, the food and service was good when it was open. If you're only staying a day or two it probably won't be an issue, but after 3 days, eating at the same place got old. To get a good selection of places to eat, you're going to have to make a 30-45 min drive. Like I said, if you're looking for seclusion and quiet, this will work well.

I would highly recommend the magical nights of lights. They were beautiful and the skating rink and marshmallow roasting was really cool. (note: none of this was at the "lodge" itself, it required a short drive.)

I know this sounds mostly negative, but we are willing to try the Legacy Lodge again. Perhaps the summer would be a better time, with more activities outside so we don't feel "stuck" at the lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We appreciate your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Magical Nights of Lights. We look forward to seeing you this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    82
    52
    32
    13
See reviews for
157
62
6
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just held a banquet at the Legacy Lodge. The staff were wonderful and the food and service were excellent. The sleeping rooms were clean and comfortable. We could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for your complimentary review! We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience and look forward to your return stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom lakeside cabin. What a nice surprise to find such home-y lovely accommodations with outdoor hot tub! It also had a grill, refrigerator and cook top so would be ideal for a family Vaca. The property is huge and gorgeous. The main lodge was very nice. Bullfrogs restaurant had yummy food though the atmosphere is a little boring, Overall a great place I hope to have the occasion to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We will certainly look forward to your return stay in the future for a family vacation!!! Come during the summer and take advantage of our fabulous beach and water park, equestrian center, zip lines and so much more! No matter what time of year you come, there is something for everyone! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doraville, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for a recent conference and love the new look of the building. Our room was clean and nice. Bed slept very well. The Friday night buffet dinner had a good selection, but the food was barely warm and the staff didn't seem as happy to be working that evening (no water refills). We asked for after dinner coffee and it was freezing cold! Guess the pot got unplugged. During the Friday night part of our meeting, they had to pry open a lock on the drink cooler since no one had a key. We need our Diet Cokes man! LOL. The next morning the breakfast was not served at the time our group had set up. When it came, the placement was not spread out well so folks were jammed in a small area. For the type of lodge this is I expected more for breakfast like a tray of eggs, breakfast meats and warm bread. Uh, no. Small quiches that were cut in half. There was cereal and other breads and fruits, but I have had better breakfasts at chain hotels. The views are beautiful and I enjoyed the room, but would not stay here on my own, only if required by our group.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are truly very sorry to hear that there were some mix-ups with your group regarding the refreshments and the food selections. That is not typical of our food and beverage department. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn your trust and your business and come back to stay with us. Our goal is to create "Guests for Life" and would love to have you be part of the Lake Lanier family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've stayed at the Legacy Lodge before for business but this time it was tied to a non-business event so we decided to stay overnight. I have to say that I was disappointed in a number of seemingly small items that make a difference. No doubt that the location and the lake are a great backdrop. The staff was friendly and attentive but it was the lack of attention to detail in our room that was disappointing. Starting from a hairdryer that didn't work, a clock radio that was unplugged from the clock (not the wall) with the line under the bed, a TV remote that didn't work and a sliding glass door that couldn't be budged making the balcony inaccessible. No doubt I would have had these items addressed if my stay was longer, but since it was just an overnight, I left word with the desk. And to top that off, we stopped for breakfast at the Windows restaurant, again a great setting, but the food was way below par - the omelets watery and the buffet items tasted like leftovers or prefab food. Overall, the best thing going for the Legacy Lodge is its location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We sincerely apologize for the "small" details as we consider all details important and to that end we failed you without providing proper attention. We do not want anything - big or small - to take away from your experience while staying with us. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to gain your trust and your business. We look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at the resort to attend my cousin’s wedding. This resort is absolutely spectacular and if coming here for a week of fun or excursion, I highly recommend it. My cousin, unfortunately, had a lot of difficulty planning the wedding and on the day of the wedding had other issues. Those will be discussed in the con section. It annoyed her enough that I am deducting 1 star from my review because I hated seeing her annoyance on her wedding day.

Pros:
1. There are a bunch of different locations and types of lodging. My brother and sister chose to stay at the lodge itself, which is a more traditional hotel. Some of my cousins stayed in the townhome style lodgings and my family chose to stay in the lake houses. The lake houses are in their own separate “neighborhood” and are small houses with two bedrooms and central living room kitchen dining area. A huge plus for the lake houses is that they all have hot tubs on the deck.
2. Plenty of places to eat: Besides the kitchens in the townhomes and lakes houses, there are plenty of places to eat on property. The breakfast is fantastic at Windows, a tasty Ruby Tuesday like experience at Bullfrogs and a really great outdoor location on the lake at Sunset Cove.
3. Plenty of stuff to do: If anyone says they are bored here then they probably made a wrong turn and ended up someplace else. There is golf, ziplining, horseback riding, walking trails, boating, camping and many other activities.

Cons:
1. My cousin was married on property here. The location was beautiful, the food was wonderful and the resort did a great job transporting us all to the wedding site from all our locations. Unfortunately, there were some major cons with the wedding. First, their wedding coordinator was extremely rude. Second, the sound system at the wedding ceremony was constantly cutting out. Finally, the DJ seemed to completely ignore my cousin’s suggested playlist and go rogue. She went with the flow, but it was not the best experience. I suppose my advice is that if you are looking for an event there, make sure that you like the coordinator and confirm that the equipment works and the staff understands all the plans.

Overall, I would recommend it. We, as the guests of the wedding with no planning roles, had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: If you want a house (2 bedroom with dining living room and kitchen) with a hot tub on the deck all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you rang in the New Year with us and had such a great time! We strive to provide exceptional service for all of our valued guests and will look forward to seeing you again this Spring! Thank you for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the lodge the night before the Polar Plunge for Special Olympics. Check-in was very easy and our beautiful, spacious room had a nice view of the lake. We had dinner in Bullfrogs Restaurant. The food was very good and nicely presented. After a good night's sleep, we had breakfast in the Windows Restaurant. Again, the food was really good. We will definately stay here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to hear that you had such a great time at our 4th Annual Polar Plunge! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Buford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buford
#1 Business Hotel in Buford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the shores of Lake Sidney Lanier, Lake Lanier Islands Resort boasts 1,500 scenic acres perfect for active families, romantic couples, corporate groups and solo travelers alike. Guests may choose from a variety of onsite activities and amenities to curate the perfect experience year round, from a water park to diverse dining options and a spa. Additionally, this lakeside Georgia resort offers over 23,000 square feet of flexible event space and professional services for successful conferences, retreats, weddings, and other events. Luxurious amenities and unparalleled natural beauty come standard with your stay, which will surely be treasured long after your bags have been unpacked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Legacy Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Lodge And Conference Center
Legacy Hotel Buford
Legacy Resort Buford
Emerald Point Lake Lanier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.