We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its OK....Hopefully Getting Better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Legacy Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Legacy Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Buford
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Its OK....Hopefully Getting Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the 2 Bedroom 'Lake Houses'. Dollar for Dollar it was average, but not a disaster. We will most likely give it another shot this year IF the pricing is in-line. Its easiest to just bullet point out our stay (the Good & Bad):

The GOOD:

The Beds - They were amazing! Probably the most comfortable we've ever slept in.

The Layout - It (the 2 Bedroom Lake House) was Cozy. Comfortable for 4 adults and a 2 year old.

Air Conditioning - Was great!

The Resort/Grounds - Its beautiful. I am so glad that someone is finally investing money to make this a destination. It can be so much more and it feels like someone else finally recognizes this.

The BAD:

The Price - Dollar for Dollar I felt we paid too much for what we got. I could have rented a private house on the lake for the same dollars. Taxes, while not any fault of LLI except for being in GA, were outrageous! GA should be ashamed of themselves (but they won't be).

Parking - Mostly I list this as a negative because we spent extra on a Golf Cart, but could not park it anywhere and had to return it each night before dark (and because of this we cancelled the cart after 1 day). It was not at all convenient and we would not do this again unless it was free (and even then, we'd have to consider if its worth it because of the hassle of having to return it each night). I would have hoped there would be parking especially for the Golf Carts that would be closer. Instead you had to park it in the parking lot amongst the rest of the cars. Seems to defeat the purpose.

Service - Long Line at Check In (probably just bad timing), but coupled with horrible service at Gianni's and a so/so Breakfast service, it all compiled to my 'Poor' rating. I will say that we are at Sunset Cove Bar & Grill almost every weekend and never have issues...most everyone is super friendly and service is fine. Gianni's was entirely different. Long Long wait, wrong food, half the table coming out 10 full minutes before the other half, no refills offered on the soda. The Food was so/so at best. We never went back that weekend or all summer. Breakfast was more about being understaffed and just waiting forever for juice, coffee, silverware, etc. Food was fine here...The guy at the Omelet station was great! Wish I would have remembered his name.

The MIDDLE OF THE ROAD:

Docking - We came by boat (as we always do). I'm all for reserving slips, but would like to see a couple of things.
1) A discount for those actually STAYING at the resort (or at least a credit back of at least part of the docking fee's for use at the resort).
2) An easier way to make multiple night reservations in the same slip so you don't have to move the boat every morning because you can only do 1 night and 1 slip at a time. The reservation system in place now is lacking quite a bit.

My SUMMARY:

We'll be back. You can tell that the effort is being made and that is good enough for me/us to keep coming back. If I sensed they gave up or were OK with the Staus Quo it would be a different story, but nothing or nobody is perfect (not even Disney) so as long as they keep working to make this a better place, we'll be back. Its come a long way, but there is more that can be done and we hope to see the resort get better with more attractions and more reasons to not only come, but to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve and will certainly take your suggestions to heart. We thank you for your continued loyalty and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    78
    50
    29
    14
See reviews for
151
50
6
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in a villa king room and was disappointed. The services listed on the website did not exist. We were not escorted to the villa, in fact, when we checked in I requested an extra blanket and ice and was given these items to take to the villa myself. Tacky! There was no welcoming gift basket and no complimentary newspaper. There was no nightly turn down service and on 12/24 our room was not serviced at all. In our room there were scattered cobwebs and an acorn desk lamp had plenty of dust within the metal acorns. The setting is not private since the walls are paper-thin. We arranged to have a package delivered to us at the hotel. Amanda at the desk said it would be delivered to our room but it was never brought to us. Instead, we had to go to the lodge and find it ourselves. Room service cannot even make a grilled cheese sandwich since we received 2 slices of untoasted bread with a piece of cold cheese between them. The first 2 days there, our phone rang waking us at 5am and when answered there was no one on the line. What a nuisance! After reporting this it was corrected. The room was spacious and there is a fireplace but when the fireplace is not on, there is a faint smell of gas in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your service expectations. We appreciate your taking the time to detail exactly what went wrong with your stay so that we have the opportunity to correct those items going forward. We hope that you will give us another chance to earn your trust and will consider returning to Legacy Lodge. Again, please accept our most sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I just returned from a weekend conference at this resort. From the moment my car turned in I felt I was in the perfect place. The drive up to the main hotel was beautifully lined with thousands of Christmas lights. Now the main hotel comes into view. This is a superior rustic looking scene.
From the front desk to housekeeping, every staff member was gracious and went out of their way to make our conference one of a kind.
The resort is surrounded byLake Lanier. The food in each resturant was delicious and the wait staff was a pleasure.
The rooms in the main hotel were lovely, but we had a villa on the water that took the resort rating over the top.
I would return anytime for any reason and never hesitate to recommend them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We strive to provide excellent service for all of our valued guests! We are sincerely looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I spent the weekend at this location and can not begin to say how wonderful it was. The staff was amazing, the food was excellent, the facility is beautiful! I live close to the area and had never before taken advantage of the beauty that was right in my own backyard! I must also comment on the spa experience--simply the best ever--so relaxing! I have already and will continue to recommend this location to my friends, family, and co-workers. The grounds are spectacular -----a great venue for weddings, social events, water park activities and the list goes on and on......I had a wonderful experience and you will too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We are so pleased to hear that you had such an amazing time and we look forward to seeing you lots more in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend with another couple who were celebrating the husband's birthday. The lobby area is very inviting, rustic, warm, and beautiful with a nice fireplace. Our room also had the same rustic, warm decor and was really cozy. It had a great view of the lake from the balcony. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very nicely appointed. It has a great shower and amenities, however, I didn't like that the closet and coffee service are inside the bathroom. The bathroom is a little small and the closet being inside makes it feel tight. It would be better if the closet and the coffee service were outside of the bathroom. Also, the walls are very thin and noise from the hallways and footsteps from the rooms above can be heard.

Our friends had a suite which was very nice and spacious with a separate bedroom and living area with a sleeper sofa, dining area, several windows and two balconies. The only thing that it lacked was having a wet area or kitchenette in the living area. If it had that it would be perfect.

The hotel has a nice pool area with a hot tub overlooking the lake. It also has and a nice fire pit surrounded by lounge chairs, great for chilly nights with a glass of wine.

We spend a day fishing on the lake from the hotel dock. The great thing about the hotel fishing dock is that although it is just a short walk down a hill from the hotel, it is in a wooded area and feels like you're miles away. It is very quiet and peaceful and the water is very deep at that point for good fishing. You can also watch the zip-liners zipping through the woods and over the lake and see a few boaters go by as you relax on the dock. So entertaining!

We arrived on the first night of the drive-through Holiday lights display, which is always a treat! The Christmas village is beautiful, with fire pits for roasting marshmallows, man-made snow, an ice-skating rink, an old fashioned carnival with rides and games, funnel cakes and other carnival foods, and even a glass house! Inside the building at Christmas village, there are beautiful Christmas trees, decorations and gifts and more food vendors.

Overall a great getaway for the holidays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
How exciting that you and your husband were able to take advantage of some many activities while you were here! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Magical Nights of Lights and also some spectacular fishing right from our very own dock! We look forward to your return visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Spent a week here for meetings and trainings.
Rooms are very average and too dark, not very cozy or differentiated.
Food is nothin special at all, not varied and it all tastes the same.
Even when switching to the"italian" restaurant on the premises or with a dinner on a boat, the same things were served again and did not surprise in any way. Boring kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We appreciate your comments as we take our guests suggestions to heart in order to look for ways to improve our services. We have shared your comments, in regards to food, with our Executive Chef. Once again we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glennville, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Took our two grandchildren this past week-end to enjoy the festival of lights. This was our first time to see the beautiful lights in this area, and we were all amazed at how spectacular they were. It certainly made you feel the Christmas spirit. Girls loved the ice skating rink and carnival at end of tour. Of courst the fire pit and toasting marshmallows was also a big hit. The tour was arranged so that it flowed very smoothly. Had stayed at Lodge two yrs ago for fall wedding, so was used to the layout. as they say, first impressions are so important and the girls at check-in was great!Ms Kim(I think) was so very cheerful and fun to talk with. Gave good advice for us making the most of our light tour. Came back and enjoyed a late dinner at Bullfrogs with another excellent employee. Though despite being late, she was so pleasant and helpful with menu. Again, we were so pleased with breakfast staff next morning. Large variety to choose from and an omelet/egg/waffle station cooked to order. we also had a very comfortable room with great beds and pillows. Always enjoy the decor of the lodge. That fireplace makes for a very relaxing time! The only thing that would only be a small negative would be brighter lights in bathroom(especially for the ladies). Although it was a cold night we enjoyed our balcony(for a short time). View of lake was pretty through th trees. Legacy Lodge has a great staff. Everyone we came in contact with was super friendly and helpful.We are already planning on making this a yearly event.

Room Tip: I asked for a quite room and did not hear a sound all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you and your grandchildren had such a wonderful time and that you will be making Legacy Lodge and the Magical Nights of Lights a yearly tradition! Thank you for your recognition of some of our excellent employees - we know they will be thrilled with your acknowledgement to their dedication to service! Giving all of our valued guests a super experience is what we strive for and we couldn't be more pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we will certainly look forward to a long lasting relationship with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Buford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Buford
#3 Family Hotel in Buford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the shores of Lake Sidney Lanier, Lake Lanier Islands Resort boasts 1,500 scenic acres perfect for active families, romantic couples, corporate groups and solo travelers alike. Guests may choose from a variety of onsite activities and amenities to curate the perfect experience year round, from a water park to diverse dining options and a spa. Additionally, this lakeside Georgia resort offers over 23,000 square feet of flexible event space and professional services for successful conferences, retreats, weddings, and other events. Luxurious amenities and unparalleled natural beauty come standard with your stay, which will surely be treasured long after your bags have been unpacked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Legacy Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Lodge And Conference Center
Legacy Hotel Buford
Legacy Resort Buford
Emerald Point Lake Lanier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.