We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Legacy Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Legacy Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Funtastic Package
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Buford
Grayson, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I spent the weekend at this location and can not begin to say how wonderful it was. The staff was amazing, the food was excellent, the facility is beautiful! I live close to the area and had never before taken advantage of the beauty that was right in my own backyard! I must also comment on the spa experience--simply the best ever--so relaxing! I have already and will continue to recommend this location to my friends, family, and co-workers. The grounds are spectacular -----a great venue for weddings, social events, water park activities and the list goes on and on......I had a wonderful experience and you will too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We are so pleased to hear that you had such an amazing time and we look forward to seeing you lots more in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    70
    45
    26
    12
See reviews for
123
44
6
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I spent the weekend with another couple who were celebrating the husband's birthday. The lobby area is very inviting, rustic, warm, and beautiful with a nice fireplace. Our room also had the same rustic, warm decor and was really cozy. It had a great view of the lake from the balcony. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very nicely appointed. It has a great shower and amenities, however, I didn't like that the closet and coffee service are inside the bathroom. The bathroom is a little small and the closet being inside makes it feel tight. It would be better if the closet and the coffee service were outside of the bathroom. Also, the walls are very thin and noise from the hallways and footsteps from the rooms above can be heard.

Our friends had a suite which was very nice and spacious with a separate bedroom and living area with a sleeper sofa, dining area, several windows and two balconies. The only thing that it lacked was having a wet area or kitchenette in the living area. If it had that it would be perfect.

The hotel has a nice pool area with a hot tub overlooking the lake. It also has and a nice fire pit surrounded by lounge chairs, great for chilly nights with a glass of wine.

We spend a day fishing on the lake from the hotel dock. The great thing about the hotel fishing dock is that although it is just a short walk down a hill from the hotel, it is in a wooded area and feels like you're miles away. It is very quiet and peaceful and the water is very deep at that point for good fishing. You can also watch the zip-liners zipping through the woods and over the lake and see a few boaters go by as you relax on the dock. So entertaining!

We arrived on the first night of the drive-through Holiday lights display, which is always a treat! The Christmas village is beautiful, with fire pits for roasting marshmallows, man-made snow, an ice-skating rink, an old fashioned carnival with rides and games, funnel cakes and other carnival foods, and even a glass house! Inside the building at Christmas village, there are beautiful Christmas trees, decorations and gifts and more food vendors.

Overall a great getaway for the holidays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
How exciting that you and your husband were able to take advantage of some many activities while you were here! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Magical Nights of Lights and also some spectacular fishing right from our very own dock! We look forward to your return visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Spent a week here for meetings and trainings.
Rooms are very average and too dark, not very cozy or differentiated.
Food is nothin special at all, not varied and it all tastes the same.
Even when switching to the"italian" restaurant on the premises or with a dinner on a boat, the same things were served again and did not surprise in any way. Boring kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We appreciate your comments as we take our guests suggestions to heart in order to look for ways to improve our services. We have shared your comments, in regards to food, with our Executive Chef. Once again we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glennville, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Took our two grandchildren this past week-end to enjoy the festival of lights. This was our first time to see the beautiful lights in this area, and we were all amazed at how spectacular they were. It certainly made you feel the Christmas spirit. Girls loved the ice skating rink and carnival at end of tour. Of courst the fire pit and toasting marshmallows was also a big hit. The tour was arranged so that it flowed very smoothly. Had stayed at Lodge two yrs ago for fall wedding, so was used to the layout. as they say, first impressions are so important and the girls at check-in was great!Ms Kim(I think) was so very cheerful and fun to talk with. Gave good advice for us making the most of our light tour. Came back and enjoyed a late dinner at Bullfrogs with another excellent employee. Though despite being late, she was so pleasant and helpful with menu. Again, we were so pleased with breakfast staff next morning. Large variety to choose from and an omelet/egg/waffle station cooked to order. we also had a very comfortable room with great beds and pillows. Always enjoy the decor of the lodge. That fireplace makes for a very relaxing time! The only thing that would only be a small negative would be brighter lights in bathroom(especially for the ladies). Although it was a cold night we enjoyed our balcony(for a short time). View of lake was pretty through th trees. Legacy Lodge has a great staff. Everyone we came in contact with was super friendly and helpful.We are already planning on making this a yearly event.

Room Tip: I asked for a quite room and did not hear a sound all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are so pleased to hear that you and your grandchildren had such a wonderful time and that you will be making Legacy Lodge and the Magical Nights of Lights a yearly tradition! Thank you for your recognition of some of our excellent employees - we know they will be thrilled with your acknowledgement to their dedication to service! Giving all of our valued guests a super experience is what we strive for and we couldn't be more pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we will certainly look forward to a long lasting relationship with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

September 30th, 2012 through October 3rd, 2012 we once again had the opportunity to send a group to Legacy Lodge at Lake Lanier. The consistency amazing of service, the welcoming enviroment from the time you enter the resort at the front gate until the time you leave everyone there makes sure you feel you are a welcome guest. Thank you to the Door Attendees, Front Desk, Housekeeping, Resturant which has the most awesome food and I highley recommend it, Legacy Lodge is our favorite place to come and I highly recommend it for business as well as pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are truly thankful to have such a long-standing relationship with your group and are pleased to hear that once again we have exceeded your expectations and delivered on our promise for exceptional customer service. We look forward to making sure that we continue our tradition of excellency with all our guests and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I attended a conference held at this hotel. Having stayed in many hotels for various conferences, this one really impressed me. The room decor and furnishings were beautiful and showed attention to every little detail.
The meeting rooms were comfortable, the food was better than expected, and the service by the staff was excellent. We wanted for nothing, and had some nice surprises with the buffet.
Great bar and restaurant on-site. No need to go elsewhere to entertain.
Our group has already decided to hold our conference at this hotel a second time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you had such an excellent stay. We will certainly look forward to seeing your group again on your next visit and we will be ready to serve up our own brand of unique Southern Hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location; half hour north of Atlanta. Grounds were beautiful. Was attending a conference. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Food (buffet) was very good esp. breakfast. Nice gift shop. Staff very helpful and attentive. Recommended.

Room Tip: Stay on first floor. Reception on on third floor, and access to 2'nd floor rooms is via elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llisocial, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay. We look forward to your return stay and hope that you will take advantage of all we have to offer year round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legacy Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Buford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Buford
#3 Family Hotel in Buford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legacy Lodge & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the shores of Lake Sidney Lanier, Lake Lanier Islands Resort boasts 1,500 scenic acres perfect for active families, romantic couples, corporate groups and solo travelers alike. Guests may choose from a variety of onsite activities and amenities to curate the perfect experience year round, from a water park to diverse dining options and a spa. Additionally, this lakeside Georgia resort offers over 23,000 square feet of flexible event space and professional services for successful conferences, retreats, weddings, and other events. Luxurious amenities and unparalleled natural beauty come standard with your stay, which will surely be treasured long after your bags have been unpacked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Legacy Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Lodge And Conference Center
Legacy Hotel Buford
Legacy Resort Buford
Emerald Point Lake Lanier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.