We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room looks nice, but does not smell fresh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Buford - Mall of GA

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Buford - Mall of GA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Buford - Mall of GA
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2499 Satellite Boulevard, Buford, GA 30518   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Buford
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Room looks nice, but does not smell fresh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is not the average HIE hotel which if nothing else smells fresh. This one says it has been newly renovated, but my room smelled like the carpet needed cleaning. I was afraid to walk barefoot on the carpet or bath. I did not enjoy my stay. It looked clean, but the smell was just not fresh at all. I would not stay here again. It is near the Mall of GA, but not as close as it advertises. It is at least 3-5 miles away from the Mall, but down the highway so I guess it is technically "Mall of GA". It is closer to the town of Buford. I just don't recommend it.

Room Tip: bring febreeze or Oust
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiexpbuford, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Buford - Mall of GA, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We thank you for your feedback with your recent stay with us.We are sorry that did not have
a good stay with us. Our Front Desk staff are trained to assist our guest in having a wonderful
stay. We have a great location about 1.5 miles from the Mall of Ga and many restaurant chains for
fine dining needs. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
7
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbia sc
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A little farther from I-85 than expected but that's my fault for reading the map a little better. Typical HI-EXPRESS.. clean, quiet and friendly staff. Breakfast was on time and the usual choices. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I happened upon this hotel when I was looking for a hotel for the night and was feeling very depressed. I had recently relocated to the GA area, and had moved into my apartment when I realized that the hot water had sulfur in it and smelled like rotten eggs. I had contacted the emergency number 4 times to no avail. It was the July 4th holiday period. I could not stay in the apt., so I had to find a place to stay. I was literally at a very low point. I thank The Almighty for guiding me to the Holiday Inn. Lisa was a Godsend. She was so caring. I got just the right room, had a good night's rest and was able to deal with my problem the next day. I am so very thankful for people like the staff that I encountered at the Holiday Inn. The room was very nice, clean, and comfortable.

Room Tip: I had a corner suite which afforded me views from two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast is never ever in time. The breakfast person is always late. It is 45 minutes late today 05/31/2013. Even when they have the front desk person thro part if it out at 6 am the pancake machine is never ready till 6:30. My crew stays here a lot and we must get out early so we are going to switch motels from now on.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiexpbuford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Buford - Mall of GA, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We sorry to hear that you felt that breakfast was not on time. Thanks for staying with us.
We offer one of the Best Hot Breakfast selection in the area and normally do our best
to serve on time .Many times we have even served the basic breakfast items like cereal
and muffins and fruit before 6am. Thanks for your feedback and we will review with our staff
to ensure that the full breakfast be on time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff was very helpful with early check in because we were going to the Jimmy Buffett concert in the afternoon. We even received an upgrade because we were Priority Club members.
We will definitely stay there when we return to Buford

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I am one of the parents that had the pleasure of spending 3 days at your hotel, while my daughter attended the CRCT with our school, the GA Connection Academy. The first two days, we had a meeting room at another hotel in the area. It was a horrible experience. Unresponsive staff, cleanliness lacked in the bathrooms. There was no A/C and the kids had to test in a room with a temperature of 80 plus degrees. No responsiveness from the staff to solve the problem. I believe that our school principal contacted Mrs. Thomas and she immediately accommodated our school.Not an easy task on such short notice, considering that we were about 80 kids and 80 parents. While guests take the utmost priority in you business, Mrs Thomas jumped through hoops for us without disturbing the regular flow of business. I have attended many corporate meetings at various hotels across the country and this was one of my best experience. I want to express my gratitude to you. Your staff is absolutely fantastic! You can be very proud of your crew.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recently I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. The room was spacious. It is so nice to have a fridge and microwave. So modern and clean. I enjoyed the flat screen TV and free WIFI. The housekeeping staff is excellent. They offer a full breakfast with lots of variety. It's a very convenient location and just down the road from the wonderful Mall of Georgia
I would highly recommend this property. It's an A+!

Room Tip: I have stayed here a couple of times and don't think you can find a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Buford - Mall of GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Buford - Mall of GA

Address: 2499 Satellite Boulevard, Buford, GA 30518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Buford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Buford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Buford - Mall of GA 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newly Renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel Atlanta-Buford is located just northeast of Atlanta, near the Mall of Georgia off I-985, exit 4 and 2 miles west of I-85, exit 115. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Mall of GA is 7 miles from the Gwinnett Center and Arena. Book your meetings and wedding receptions while staying in Buford at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel Mall of GA meeting rooms. Dine next door at the Havana Bar and Grill Cuban restaurant or one of the other fine restaurants in Buford like Olive Garden, PF Chang's, On the Border Mexican food and Golden Corral. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Buford is close to companies like Siemens, Makita, Mary Kay, Rockwell Automation, and Scientific Atlanta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Buford - Mall of GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Buford - Mall Of Ga
Holiday Inn Buford
Buford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Buford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Buford - Mall of GA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.