We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Go To Neighborhood Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental J

Oriental J
2590 Hamilton Mill Road, Buford, GA 30519
(770) 932-7388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 190 Restaurants in Buford
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Buford, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our Go To Neighborhood Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is the best of the local places we have to choose from. The Pad Thai and Basil rice are the Thai dishes I've tried. Good versions of the standard Chinese favorites like General Tso's chicken and Lo Mein. Good sushi, too. They do it all well. Which is an accomplishment. Most places that offer multiple cuisines stumble on at least one. We've done sit down, take out and delivery. Good service any way you order.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoschton, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have been dining at Oriental J's since it first opened. Everything about this Restaurant is exceptional! The owner and his staff continuously go out of their way to provide exemplary service to their customers. The quality and variety of food is second to none. It always comes hot and well prepared without exception. We dine their weekly and look forward to each and every visit and have never been disappointed. We have always enjoyed Asian and Thai cuisine and have dined in several Asian Restaurants throughout the country, yet rate this one as the very best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Ga
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Go eat somewhere else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i have I made our first and last visit here.We arrived at 1pm, the host was on his cell phone with a friend. We stood there several minutes before he grabbed two menus and waved us to follow him. He threw them on the table and left still talking on his cellphone.The server was so rude when I asked him about the egg rolls. I am allergic to shellfish and wanted to be sure this was not in it. His response was "when you break it open you can check for yourself!" . We ordered tea and he asked what kind? When we asked him about the three kinds, he rolled his eyes. We would have left but figured it couldn't get any worse....wrong! There was so little meat in our dishes we were shocked and it wasn't even served hot.We paid our bill and will never be backl Please learn from our experience and go elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in Buford!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I haven't had anything here I won't order again. Simply delicious, lunch specials are the best deal here. But I really don't mind paying dinner prices here cause its worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were looking for a Chinese restaurant and came here because of the Tripadvisor rating. It was great. The sizzling rice soup and basic roll appetizers might have been the best we've had. Service was excellent. We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oriental J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental J, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.