We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off exit 36B great, place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5323 New Jesup Hwy, Brunswick, GA 31523 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Brunswick Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Brunswick
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Off exit 36B great, place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

After 10 hours of driving on Interstate 95, we were worn out and looking for a nice, clean, affordable place to crash for the night. The Best Western in Brunswick turned out to be just the ticket. Very nice people, very clean, bright rooms, comfortable beds and pillows and good selection of TV channels. The room comes complete with a microwave and refrig , haridryer and at around 60 bucks a night it was exactly what we were looking for. An added bonsus is that it is next to a Waffle House, open 24 hours, which makes it perfect for coffee loving people like me.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    17
    14
    23
See reviews for
35
20
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Stayed here one night on our way to NC. Nice, pleasant people at desk, asked for ground room & got one. Ate at Matteos which is right on hotel property. Good rate, would recommend. Husband said mattress on bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Right off 95, good resto attached. Rooms are convenient down and out types (unless you like to climb stairs). I've probably stayed here a dozen times or more.
My only complaint is that they need a bell at the desk - gal seems to hide in back room during the checkout rush in the morning. Also, needs to utter the words 'Thank you', not "Here ya go" with the receipt. Why should we be thanking THEM when we are the customer? These kids just don't get it.
Decent showers.
Breakfast room OK - good old fashioned Bunn coffee makers - not those @$#$ pump carafes which don't keep the coffee hot. Nice gal keeps it humming.
I believe they are pet friendly, too. At least I saw many pets there during a Florida hurricane evacuation. One gal had 9 cats in cages in her room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Fleas. Had bites all over. I've include pics of my bites(taken in the hotel!), but I'm sure everyone knows what they look like. They were nasty. I work for the government so, unfortunately, I had to stay where they put me. It was a terrible experience, and it was right next to a bad neighborhood. I would not return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

Travelling north with a cat. Room was a bit musty and carpet had seen better days. Probably adequate value for the price. Very convenient Italian restaurant on the property (Matteo's). Good food and prices.

  • Liked — pet friendly
  • Disliked — needs room renovations
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Stayed here on my return trip from Fla to Va. After the horrible experience I had on the way to Fla. ( see review Days Inn Hardeevilee, S.C.) this place was like the Ritz Carlton. Clean rooms and a ways off I-95 so there was no highway noise as well as no neighbor noise (good soundproofing). Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte nc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

This is a older style hotel, where the rooms are outside. Nice big rooms but small bathroom. Alot of people / truckers standing outside drinking beer when we got there. Only 3 resturants around the hotel, but 1 is attached to it. Woke up the next morning and called the front desk at 6:00am and nobody was there (not a 24 hour hotel), we went to get breakfast at 6:30am (when they say they start) and the door was still locked. It is ok for a night but disappointed w/ service..

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick

Address: 5323 New Jesup Hwy, Brunswick, GA 31523 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Brunswick Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Wyndham so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Hotel Brunswick Brunswick
Brunswick Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.