We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5323 New Jesup Hwy, Brunswick, GA 31523 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Brunswick Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Milledgeville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“family trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Check in was easy.Rooms were clean,microwave and fridge in the room,plenty of room for your clothes..Breakfast was good each morning.Close to Jekyll Island and St.Simons Island.Room was good for the price.Italian Resturant was great at the hotel.We stayed there for 3 days.Things we did not like were the towels and the color of the pool and the small pool was broken.

Room Tip: I would stay on the side away from the pool on the bottom floor.You can park your car right in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristi K, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Let me begin by thanking you for staying with us, and to let you know that we are working on our pool. We would love for you to come and stay with us again this summer to try it out, or just come anytime, we are always glad to have you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    17
    12
    20
See reviews for
33
16
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Arrived at 4am and the lady at the front desk was so nice and helpful. We got adjoining rooms. Room was bit outdated but clean and comfortable. I was pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I stayed here after passing up the super 8 across the st just based on too much activity in the super 8 parking lot. There were 2 cruizers near this hotel and it looks well watched after and without the riffraff.
This hotel was quiet, nice and I would stay again. No surprises. Very clean. Reasonably good shape everything worked. Not the Holiday Inn, but perfect for a highway stop. The hotel seems local and seems to be watched after by the locals. I would def stay here again. I paid $50 (sign out front). Free internet. And I like to park outside my room door. Exactly what I was looking for in a lower priced hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverwing_81, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thankyou so much for choosing to stay with us, we are always thankful for special guests like you. I do hope that you will stay with us again if you are passing through, or come and stay a while over the holidays, Brunswick and The Golden Isles has a lot to offer that isn't very far away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We hosted our family reunion this year. Magnuson staff was very helpful and friendly. We live locally, but our out of town guest were very well treated at the hotel. We spent 3 days there and enjoyed a great time at the pool and BBQ area. Would recommend it to anyone travelling or like us, hosting a get together.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverwing_81, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we are always glad to have groups as well as individuals stay with us. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masillon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

we've had nothing but good/great experiance at this hotel when it was a beat western and now a magnuson we've stayed 5 times. the last 5years we go to jekyll island over the 4th of july and stop there for 2 days before going on island the staff has been great I think this is a great place to stay and would highly recomend it thank you to the staff at magnuson on jesup rd brunswick GA

ries family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverwing_81, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Its always nice to have you stay with us, I will have your rooms waiting for you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I gt a room for my kids to go swimming not to let them see adults skinny dipping and fighting. also when i went to any other hotel an rent double bed rooms we get 4 sets of towels we only gt 2 an front desk just gave us a key to another room and told us to get the towels out of tht room because they didnt have any. This hotel need to get up to speed because i rented rooms all the time for my kids to so swimming when it was best western but the way things look now we wont be coming back!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverwing_81, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
I'm so sorry for your bad experience. We at the Magnuson Brunswick Inn constantly strive to make our guest experiences GREAT! Please don't let this one bad experience stop you from staying with us, gives us another opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We tried 3 rooms and finally stayed in the least smelly of all.The rooms smelled like sewage and/or vomit.- don;'t know what was going on, but the place was better when it was a Best Western. Will never stay here again. There are many better options. But now we know why this is the cheapest!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick

Address: 5323 New Jesup Hwy, Brunswick, GA 31523 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Brunswick Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Hotel Brunswick Brunswick
Brunswick Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.