We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5323 New Jesup Hwy, Brunswick, GA 31523 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Brunswick Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Brunswick
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We hosted our family reunion this year. Magnuson staff was very helpful and friendly. We live locally, but our out of town guest were very well treated at the hotel. We spent 3 days there and enjoyed a great time at the pool and BBQ area. Would recommend it to anyone travelling or like us, hosting a get together.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverwing_81, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we are always glad to have groups as well as individuals stay with us. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    17
    14
    23
See reviews for
35
20
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
masillon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

we've had nothing but good/great experiance at this hotel when it was a beat western and now a magnuson we've stayed 5 times. the last 5years we go to jekyll island over the 4th of july and stop there for 2 days before going on island the staff has been great I think this is a great place to stay and would highly recomend it thank you to the staff at magnuson on jesup rd brunswick GA

ries family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverwing_81, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Its always nice to have you stay with us, I will have your rooms waiting for you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I gt a room for my kids to go swimming not to let them see adults skinny dipping and fighting. also when i went to any other hotel an rent double bed rooms we get 4 sets of towels we only gt 2 an front desk just gave us a key to another room and told us to get the towels out of tht room because they didnt have any. This hotel need to get up to speed because i rented rooms all the time for my kids to so swimming when it was best western but the way things look now we wont be coming back!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silverwing_81, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
I'm so sorry for your bad experience. We at the Magnuson Brunswick Inn constantly strive to make our guest experiences GREAT! Please don't let this one bad experience stop you from staying with us, gives us another opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We tried 3 rooms and finally stayed in the least smelly of all.The rooms smelled like sewage and/or vomit.- don;'t know what was going on, but the place was better when it was a Best Western. Will never stay here again. There are many better options. But now we know why this is the cheapest!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

After 10 hours of driving on Interstate 95, we were worn out and looking for a nice, clean, affordable place to crash for the night. The Best Western in Brunswick turned out to be just the ticket. Very nice people, very clean, bright rooms, comfortable beds and pillows and good selection of TV channels. The room comes complete with a microwave and refrig , haridryer and at around 60 bucks a night it was exactly what we were looking for. An added bonsus is that it is next to a Waffle House, open 24 hours, which makes it perfect for coffee loving people like me.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Stayed here one night on our way to NC. Nice, pleasant people at desk, asked for ground room & got one. Ate at Matteos which is right on hotel property. Good rate, would recommend. Husband said mattress on bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Right off 95, good resto attached. Rooms are convenient down and out types (unless you like to climb stairs). I've probably stayed here a dozen times or more.
My only complaint is that they need a bell at the desk - gal seems to hide in back room during the checkout rush in the morning. Also, needs to utter the words 'Thank you', not "Here ya go" with the receipt. Why should we be thanking THEM when we are the customer? These kids just don't get it.
Decent showers.
Breakfast room OK - good old fashioned Bunn coffee makers - not those @$#$ pump carafes which don't keep the coffee hot. Nice gal keeps it humming.
I believe they are pet friendly, too. At least I saw many pets there during a Florida hurricane evacuation. One gal had 9 cats in cages in her room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick

Address: 5323 New Jesup Hwy, Brunswick, GA 31523 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Brunswick Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Wyndham so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Hotel Brunswick Brunswick
Brunswick Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.