We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grat view & great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mudcat Charlie's

Mudcat Charlie's
250 Ricefield Way, Brunswick, GA 31525-4664
912-261-0055
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 158 Restaurants in Brunswick
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Piney Flats, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Grat view & great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

You probably won't stumble onto this place - you gotta be looking for it. But, it is well worth the look !! Great scenery, great food. I had the fried scallop - shrimp dish. Would order it again in a heart beat !!! FANTASTIC !!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    66
    27
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best burgers ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We found Mudcat' s last week and already can't wait to return! Between three of us, we got gator tail (very good!), hushpuppies (perfect!), two cheeseburgers (best, biggest, and juiciest we've had! Still thinking about those burgers days later!), fries (good and crispy!), and chicken fingers (he loved them!). We loved this place! Service was exceptional! Atmosphere, top-notch! Food, outstanding! Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mudcat Charlie's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went to Mudcat Charlie's after a visit to nearby Hofwyl-Broadfield Plantation. The scenic restaurant is at a marina with seating both inside and out. The seafood was fresh and tasty. Service and price were both very good. Would definitely return.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Southern Fried goodness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I had never had hush puppies before. These were delicious. The location was very near the coast. Service was very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We found Mudcat Charlie's on our drive back from Florida based on the reviews here. I am glad we found it, as we had an enjoyable meal away from national chains.

It may not look like it is near the Interstate if you look at a map, but it really was no further than 5 minutes from the exit. It is a marina with a restaurant attached to it. The inside was clean and bright and appears to have been recently updated. In good weather, the outside seating by the water is probably terrific. However, it rained while we were there, so we were happy inside.

I got a Shrimp Po' Boy sandwich. The shrimp were terrific. Breaded, but very lightly to allow them to still be shrimp and not just bread crumbs. My wife ordered the fried fish and again it was breaded light enough to taste the fish. Our boys ordered off the kids menu and seemed ok with their choices. It is hard to make a kids meal anything special.

If you are looking for a restaurant off the beaten path and enjoy good, fresh seafood, I would recommend Mudcat Charlie's.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mudcat Charlie's also viewed

Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Mudcat Charlie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mudcat Charlie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.