We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great GREAT food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basil Thai & Sushi

Basil Thai & Sushi
1401 Newcastle St, Brunswick, GA
+1 912-342-7625
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 157 Restaurants in Brunswick
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Thai, Fusion
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great great GREAT food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

October 26 2013:My husband and decided to try Basil tonight for dinner and the atmosphere,service and food was excellent. My husband had the seafood green curry which he said was one of the best he had ever tasted! I had the filet and I am very glad I DID NOT read yesterday's review. My steak was great, charred on the outside but rare on the inside, and the accompanying veggies cooked to perfection. We are on a boat in a local marina and will recommend it to our fellow boaters

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    13
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not going back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

After getting the filet mignon and it being way over cooked to the point of being burnt I will not be going back! When you ask for medium rare to medium and it comes out black Id say that's way overdone . Server was great though ! Oh and it was a very thin steak....definitely not a 25 dollar filet

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful ... but lonely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stopped overnight on a Sunday evening in Brunswick GA ... on our leisurely drive from Northern NJ to our Southeast Florida home ... specifically based on the TripAdvisor reviews for Basil Thai & Sushi in "Historic Brunswick ... ignoring nearby St. Simons Island with all the resorts and restaurants that abound.

The corner location with parking right on the street in front of the restaurant was a big plus. We were stoked by the charm of the decor ... reminiscent of a NYC Greenwich Village coffee house from the 1960s with one long "old brick" wall and interesting cork tile on the other walls. A small but nicely appointed bar was situated in the rear.

The wide choice of cocktails and wines plus the varied appetizer and main course offerings blew us away. Our server Mallory ... born and raised in Brunswick but with hardly a trace of a Southern drawl ... could not have been more delightful and helpful in guiding our menu choices. The house salad and tom yum (semi-spicy hot and sour soup with choice of shrimp, chicken or just vegetables) were excellent openers for the "good stuff" to follow. My half-duck was superbly cooked to perfection (crispy but not dry) with accompanying fresh vegetables and white rice. My wife devoured her 8oz (very reasonably priced) lobster tail.

We were the only diners in the place from our 7pm arrival to our 9pm departure ... a somewhat disheartening experience in such a great restaurant where one would expect to see a crowd. Unfortunately, there seem to be two realities that are difficult to overcome:
(1) Brunswick is not a bustling community. Many of the stores along the main drag are empty. The Brunswick economy is suffering.
(2) Lots of folks stay at the seaside resorts on nearby St. Simons Island ... but, except for some adventurous souls, most resort visitors are not drawn to Brunswick.

I urge out-of towners staying at the many hotels/motels along Interstate 95 ... or visiting the nearby resorts ... to visit Basil Thai and Sush!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Brunswick needs this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

BASIL IS A VERY GOOD RESTAURANT. It has an extensive menu not all of which is oriental. We have sampled several of their sushi dishes including one entire dinner Notably their maki rolls are especially delicious. Their sushi and sashimi are very fresh as required of raw fish.Their crispy duck is among the very best duck dishes we have ever had and that includes in NY and
Chicago China towns and a variety of other ethnic renditions. We also had a desert of sticky rice and sliced mango which was quite good,The service was attentive and the décor is beautiful. All in all Basil is a splendid place to dine

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My mother and I stopped in one night for dinner and were pleasantly surprised. Delicious sushi and wonderful martinis! When we are in Brunswick again we will make this a definite stop!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Thai & Sushi also viewed

Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Basil Thai & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basil Thai & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.