We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!! One of the highlights of our trip...even though it was a cold day. LOL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Jane's Shrimp & Dolphin Cruise

Lady Jane's Shrimp & Dolphin Cruise
1200 Glynn Ave, Highway 17, Brunswick, GA
265-5711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Activities in Brunswick
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Columbus, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great time!! One of the highlights of our trip...even though it was a cold day. LOL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a great time. This was one of the best things we experienced during our recent trip to the Saint Simons and Jekyll Islands area. I would definitely recommend doing this. Great for those with kids and for those who like random information (like me!). We went out on the boat and the crew explain about shrimp boats, and shrimp fishing. They talked about the area and the ecosystem. Then they pulled the nets up three different times and had people rotate from around the table where the catch is emptied. One of the crew explained what each fish, crab, etc was, told interesting information about it and its lifecycle, passed it around, let people hold it. Then they cooked up some fresh boiled shrimp for us to eat. We all had as much as we wanted. You can bring coolers with snacks and drinks. We went on the 4 pm tour and the sunset on the way back in was amazing!!!!! I would do this again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    16
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bnkr44
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Took a trip with about 25. Not sure how it would have been with 50, but we had a great time. Phil, the marine biologist, was great and very personable. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had such a wonderful educational time with a great crew and hands-on with the catch: shrimp,of course, horseshoe crabs, squid, a variety of fish, a ray or two. Fed the gulls and returned "catch" back to the water. Then had a peel and eat shrimp meal. Had such a good time we went again a couple days later.
This time green sea turtles were caught, measured, photographed, and released.
The crew is great & knowlegeable; Be sure to bring a camera!
Lynne & Steve

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Ditto to all the other positive comments! A beautiful weather day made the trip perfect. A light breeze kept any bugs away and partially overcast kept the temperature pleasant. Boat was only about half full--no one used the air-conditioned room except to use the restroom. There was no problem bring on a few beers. The yellow and white (Spanky's) awning shown in a video has been replaced with a red and white awning which threw me a first but seeing the hand made signs up close I realized it was the same place. Amazing all the creatures that were brought up--kids loved it but everyone's attention was focused on the catch. The two hours goes quickly enough to not be bored but long enough to be enjoyable. Hop to do this again!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmire, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

No wonder this is the highest-rated Thing to Do in Brunswick. Probably the friendliest staff you'll ever run into, every one of them, from the captain to the crew. Also the most fun you'll have in two hours, leaning over a table looking at all the critters that the Lady's net dredges up. Had an awesome and unique experience! Definitely do this if you're ever in Brunswick. We ended up getting to see, touch, and hold everything from sharks to stingrays.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Jane's Shrimp & Dolphin Cruise also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Lady Jane's Shrimp & Dolphin Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Jane's Shrimp & Dolphin Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.