We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo Coastal Shanty

Indigo Coastal Shanty
1402 Reynolds Street, Brunswick, GA
912-265-2007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 157 Restaurants in Brunswick
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Chef/Owner is former Chef/Owner of Cargo Portside in Brunswick
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Visited last week with our two kids - ages 6 and 10. The staff are outstanding. They immediately brought over crayons and construction paper for the kids - then when they accidently spilled water - they swooped in and cleaned everything up quickly and replaced the paper. They even accommodated the picky eating habits of my daughter - making her a special pasta meal that wasn't on the menu. As others have noted, the food is excellent. We had a special that night - a peanut Thai chicken. The desserts was phenomenal. The bread pudding alone is worth a stop! Will definitely return when we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    38
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Coastal Shanty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It's a coastal shanty, but where is the indigo? The restaurant is in a funky little building with rustic tourquoise shutters. The inside walls are a lighter shade of robin egg blue. Nothing fancy, but there is no question about the quality or preparation of the food. Simply terrific! How could we not start with the plantains and avocado dip? This is a signature item on the menu. The generous portion is easily enough for four people. My husband ordered the fish bowl, a unique blend of local shrimp and white fish served on couscous in a bouliabase type sauce. The dish was topped with a large portion of feta cheese that fused into the entire dish creating a unique flavor. He said it made his taste buds dance. My dish was a delicious preparation of chicken curry with sweet potatoes and kale. For dessert we shared the spice cake topped with vanilla ice cream, pecans and a wonderful caramel sauce. My husband hasn't had spice cake for years, but thought the dessert was a delicious blend of complimentary favors and the ultimate sugar fix!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love the food, Chef Kate & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The variety of food choices is so impressive! Glad there were six of us to sample several dishes. Fried plantains with avocado creme, black bean hummus, Bombay chicken salad, gazpacho & pimento cheese burger were our picks. Yummy! Worth the drive over causeway from St. Simons.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happiness once again! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Visited last year with family and had an amazing time, chef came & talked to us about food allergies that our table had, made a special just for my mother. This trip solo I stopped in for lunch, currie chicken, pita & organic un-oaked chardonnay. Sooo good! Staff extremely friendly & proud of what the chef is producing. I can't wait to go back!
Go go go!
Foodie from SW FL

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We stopped at the Indigo Coastal Shanty on our way home from a business trip based on travelers reviews. We were not disappointed. When you walk into this cozy/eclectic restaurant you immediately know it's going to be good. But when your food arrives, it is better than you ever imagined! We ordered the nacho appetizer...best we've ever had...anywhere...and that's how our meal began. The rest of the food was equally delicious! The staff and our waitress were all so nice. We give this restaurant 5 stars! A must go-to if you are in the area!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo Coastal Shanty also viewed

Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
Brunswick, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Indigo Coastal Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo Coastal Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.