We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clermont, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed here one night on our way to Florida and were very pleased with our stay. The lobby is sleek, stylish and still manages to give a feeling of comfort, especially with a nicely lit fireplace going. Coffee is available all night. Breakfast was nice with Belgian waffles you make yourself and scrambled eggs with optional sausage gravy, plus typical cereal, bagels, muffins,etc.
Our room was a whole other experience. After staying in a shoe box the previous night, this room was spacious and nicely appointed with quality drapes, bedspreads and decor. Two queen sized beds facing a large HD TV, microwave and fridge. Separating the two beds was a partial room divider with a small couch (opened up to a small bed) and coffee table. A two door closet housed a safe. The bathroom was new, clean and well decorated.
Usually, we go out to eat but after a long trip on the road we called (actually we used the internet) and ordered a pizza from Dominoes....which has improved vastly from years before. They arrived with our pizza right to the door, allowing us to stay comfortably in our room. And the pizza was yummy!
Without any reservations (pun intended) I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thank you so much for your review! We love hearing what guests have to say about our hotel! :)
We do try to do everything well and glad you appreciate our work. I hope you can come stay with us again...and it's always nice to have food delivered right to your room.
Thanks,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    61
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
66
81
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stopped over at this hotel on our way down to Homestead, Florida. Just off the highway it was very easy to find.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and appeared new. It was well priced, free parking and internet, the rooms were spacious so there was nothing to complain about the accommodation. Breakfast was on par with most the other motels we stayed at on our road trip (fairly basic :) -but it's what you expect). Surprised most of these places don't offer more fresh fruits.

If you wanted to get something nice to eat I'd suggest you drive to St. Simon's, there's some good seafood that way and I'd imagine the beach is busy in the holidays. I'm told there's not much to do/eat in Brunswick.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can come stay with us again!
Thanks,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I made a reservation for someone coming in to train my employees and was pleased and relieved to find that her stay was all that I had hoped it would be and more...she was coming from New York so I was hoping that she would have a pleasant stay and that my Southern hospitality at the office would also be carried through each evening when she went back to the hotel...from the GM Mark O'Quinn to each staff member she came in contact w/...she was thrilled w/ their service and friendliness...the room was clean and lovely and she especially enjoyed the wonderful breakfast...so please relay my appreciation to all affiliated w/ this hotel...i will certainly use them again when the need arises...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thanks for the review! We always love hearing from our invaluable guests. Everyone on the team works very hard to welcome everyone who walks thru our doors and that most certainly includes our business travelers! When you’re away from your home and family we want to be the ONLY place you want to stay. And if you’re in the south…you’ve got to taste a double helping of our Southern Hospitality! ;-)
Thanks,
Mark
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

From the time we walked in and were greeted by Edna at the front desk, we knew our stay was going to be the best. We were not disappointed, the rooms were perfect. We had the most comfortable stay. Chris K.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Oh we’re so glad you had a great stay. That’s what we’re in the business to do…we can’t wait until you can get down here again!
Thanks,
Mark
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

It is a new facility that is 100% smoke free
Beds are very comfortable
Bathroom was large
Free coookies at front desk in the evening
Good location to the islands about 10-14 miles from hotel
Sleep like a rock and that isn't easy in a hotel as you all know!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Who doesn’t love some fresh baked cookies!?!  We’re so glad you liked our hotel…we’ve worked very hard on it. Anytime you want to visit the islands and sleep like a rock again you just remember where we’re at!
Thanks,
Mark
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Clean, newer Comfort Suites hotel. The facility was clean and the service was better than average. The breakfast was poor. Why do hotels think that cold bagels and muffins and powdered eggs and microwaved bacon/sausage constitute breakfast? Yuck. Additionally the woman working breakfast during our stay left a lot to be desired. Otherwise I'd recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good hotel value in the Golden Isles area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you so much for the feedback! This is the best measure we have to learn of, and fix, a problem. I will certainly look into the other egg options so please try us again and see what you think! :) And we’re glad you liked the other parts of our hotel. Clearly there are some areas to improve on so we’ll keep the good parts and work on the rest.
Thanks again for your comment,
Mark
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We booked this hotel for our trip to Fort Frederica and St. Simon's Island. It's located very close and much better priced than rooms right on the island. This hotel was not even a year old. Very clean and big room. We have three kids so space is nice. Free internet worked great, friendly staff, quick check-in and nice continental breakfast. Great value for our family on a budget. I would gladly stay here again and recommend it to anyone stopping in the Brunswick/St. Simons area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
We’re so glad you stayed with us! We’re still new but don’t worry…we’re going to work as hard as we can to still look this good 10 years from now!  And we love to have people stay with us and visit the islands so they can save their money to enjoy on the islands. We try to be high on value and easy on your wallet. We like having family and business travelers because we have the amenities for both! Come back soon!
Thanks,
Mark
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick

Address: 220 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for spacious and inviting accommodations near the Golden Isles of Georgia, then the Comfort Suites® Golden Isles Gateway hotel is perfect place to stay during your next family vacation or business trip. Popular island destinations like St. Simons Island, Little St. Simons Island, Sea Island and Jekyll Island are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Hotel Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.