We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS HOTEL EXCEEDED ALL EXPECTATIONS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“THIS HOTEL EXCEEDED ALL EXPECTATIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I can't believe this place is only rated 2.5 stars on most booking sites. The team at this place are outstanding and I think truelly care about your stay with them. Kudos to comfort suites golden isles!!! great job!!! the room was extremely clean, even the free breakfast was better than most!!!!

Room Tip: I don't think a bad room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    54
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
60
75
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ENGLEWOOD
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We arrived here after a long drive so I was tired. The gal at the front desk was very helpful and pleasant, so while I might have been grumpy from the drive, she made me smile.
The hotel seemed empty when we arrived and I even had the pool to myself. A nice pool with a hot-tub and a good place to let the miles of the day rinse off.
But empty it was not. A bus full of older folks on a tour arrived about dinner time. Apparently this hotel was their home base and they had been off to St Simons and various islands up and down the coast--and then returning to the hotel.
These folks were generally quiet, and so of no bother--until breakfast when they were all in the dining room area at once. I imagine this kind of tour is popular in the late spring and summer.
I will say they all left at once, so we found that we could let them hurry and then they were out of our way.
One other distraction--the room/suite is VERY DARK at night, and it is an veritable obstacle course to find the bathroom--so we have vowed to travel with a plug in nightlight from now on.

Room Tip: We had room 202--it had a view of the inside of the portico. Our room was directly above the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello EnglewoodDane: First let me say, thank you for staying with us and I am pleased to hear that your stay was a good one. We do have Senior tours that book with us all year long and are quite a great bunch of senior's. They are relatively quiet with the exception of breakfast. They are on a strict schedule to eat and get on the bus, so I want to say thank you for letting them hustle and bustle to get breakfast and reload on the bus. You were smart, and then were able to have a quiet breakfast also. Again, thank you for understanding and for your patience. As far as the lighting, I do apologize. The bulbs we use are the energy efficient bulbs, they brighten up after a few minutes. I have passed this information on to higher management. I would like to invite you to come back and stay with us again when traveling down this way. Also, if family and friends will be traveling this way, please refer them to us. We would love to have them. Again, thank you for your review and most of all for staying with us.

Cordially,
Cheryl Prosser
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We travel from N. C. to Fort Lauderdale a couple of times a year. This hotel is a good 1/2 way stop. The hotel is well kept, staff friendly, and has restaurants nearby. Our requests for specific room location are always accomodated. We did have very noisy neighbors during one stay. However hotel personel quieted things down before we could complain!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello Dorothy M: First let me say thank you for staying with us, we really appreciate your business and your review. We are pleased that your stay was everything you wanted it to be, along with the restaurants in the surrounding area. As far as the noise level, I do apologize and I was glad to hear that our front desk staff was able to control it for you. If you are traveling down this way again, we invite you to come back and stay with us again. Also, please pass the word to friends and family regarding our hotel. Again, thank you for staying with us.

Cordially,
Cheryl Prosser
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

For the price and the ability to fit 5 guests you can't beat this hotel...I would like if the indoor pool was cooler than 80 degrees but other than that this was a nice stay. The continental breakfast is nice with 3 kids and save money

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello djwoo1971:

Thank you for staying with us May 2014. We were glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the pool, we have lowered the temperature and apologize that it was a little to warm for you and your family. Here at Comfort Suites, we rely on our guests feed back to correct anything that is wrong. We are glad to hear the breakfast was to your family's liking. We would like to invite you and your family back to stay with us again soon. If any of your family or friends will be traveling down this way over the summer months, please tell them about us. Again, thank you for staying with us.

Cordially,
Cheryl Prosser
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to explore St. Simons and Jekyll Island. Hotel is just off I-95 and is convenient to both islands. This hotel is clean and moderately priced, which in itself would make me stay here again but what really impressed us was Cheryl!
Cheryl knows how to take care of her guests and inspire loyalty. When we told her the nature of our trip she quickly recommended places we might find sea glass, restaurants and other local information. When we decided to extend our stay Cheryl even gave us a better rate on our room. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello Jeanie P: First let me say it was our pleasure to have the two of you stay here at the hotel. I am so please that it was more than you expected. As far as Cheryl, she is this way all day and everyday. We would love to see you both come back again and stay with us. I will be sure to let Cheryl know that you were exceptionally pleased with her loyalty and dedication to her job and to her guests as well. Again, thank you and please come and stay with us again.

Coordially,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A newer model of an older Choice Hotel Group chain and, it's in a nice area, close to I-95 and quiet. Some of the comments about this place are true as we felt the rungs and elevator rug were not up to par, however, our room was a newer room, plenty large enough and, for the price, a relatively good value.
A remiYou get what you pay for, and for road warriors and travelers, a nice clean room with a comfortable bed and good shower are about all that is necessary t get through the night. This hotel had all three so it is a good bargain.
Choice Hotels don't exactly bowl one over with a "hot" breakfast but this one had a very good breakfast (sausage/eggs/coffee, etc.) so there's not much more to say.
Want to stay at a moderately-priced, good, clean hotel that you will get your money's worth?
This is your place. No fear of hoodlums, crime in this area as there are a lot of hotels nearby and it appears to be in a low or no-crime area.
We will stay here again and do recommend this property.

Room Tip: Tucked away in a park off Altama Avenue (GA25); quiet, comfortable, inexpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello Gwinnetttraveler: Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We do understand about the carpets in the elevator and do maintain them on a daily basis. With all the traffic in and out of the elevator, sometimes it is hard to vacuum more than twice daily. We are pleased that your stay was good and that you enjoyed the full hot breakfast buffet that is set out each and every morning. We would like very much if traveling down south again, to please come and stay with us. Please let your family and friends know of our hotel, we would love to have them stay with us. Again, thank you for staying with us and your feed back was most helpful.

Cordially,
Cheryl Prosser
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

From the moment we walked in, we were very impressed with this motel. Brenda was at the front desk check in area, and was so friendly & helpful too. Nice Motel, small breakfast seating area. Very comfy and large rooms, had a king bed. Wall controlled temperature in rooms, clean. Coffee was just okay and they did not have 'flavored creamers' :-( Brenda suggested the Mill house Restaurant, which is a stones through from this motel we basically just walked across the parking lot to it. We had a great dinner. Nice location too, we only stayed one night, but would stay there again.

Room Tip: Nice motel and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello Petite3: I would like to thank you for your review on our hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us and we are very pleased that your stay was everything you wanted it to be and more. I have informed Brenda on her outstanding customer service and her recommendation for you eating at the MIllhouse. It is a great place to eat and the service is outstanding. Please let your family and friends know about us when they are traveling down south. Again, I would like to say thank you for staying with us and extend an invitation to come back and stay with us again.

Cordially,
Cheryl Prosser
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick

Address: 220 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Brunswick
#7 Family Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for spacious and inviting accommodations near the Golden Isles of Georgia, then the Comfort Suites® Golden Isles Gateway hotel is perfect place to stay during your next family vacation or business trip. Popular island destinations like St. Simons Island, Little St. Simons Island, Sea Island and Jekyll Island are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Hotel Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.