We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location - Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on our way back and forth from Florida. The location and accomodtions are A+. It sits in a courtyard among more expensive hotels and is away for the noise of I95. There is a delicious, economical restaurant a short walk across the parking lot. Upon check in, you are given a map of the nearby shopping centers, restaurants, Wal Mart, etc. If you have forgotten something, you are only a few stop lights away from finding what you need. Another plus is the soft, oversized bath towels. This is the nicest Comfort Suite we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    54
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
60
75
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was rated on Trip Advisor as the #1 in Brunswick. We arrived to find a very ordinary, average at best, chain hotel right off of a busy interstate exit. The hotel is surrounded by other chain hotels, fast food outlets and busy roads. Nothing was exceptional about the staff, breakfast or condition of the room. In fact the staff were less friendly than what we experienced on the rest of our trip in this region.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We often travel to Brunswick from Nebraska to see my sister, at least 4 trips per year. We usually stay at country inn and suites because of their quality in Nebraska. However, night 1 into a 3 night stay, we found roaches in multiple rooms. Comfort Suites was very kind at 1am getting us checked in quickly. They also covered features of hotel and answered our questions. I just had back surgery and the bed was phenominal... Even better than the one I have at home! We were greeted everytime we left and returned. The housekeeping was very polite and social.

The rooms were clean on the surface but needed some deep cleaning. Also, the quality and variety of breakfast food could improve.

We will be returning along with spreading the word to our family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Brenda at the front desk is very accommodating and friendly. Rooms are clean. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Their coffee sucks. There is not a smoker's bench outside which also is unfortunaye. Still, this Comfort Suited is a Much better value compared to the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear sparkybac: Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is always wonderful to hear that the front desk staff was exceptional and that your room was everything you wanted it to be. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the coffee that was being served. We have since switched brands and hope on your next stay with us that you will let us know what you think. We always look forward to our guests feedback to make improvements. Once again, we look forward to having you and your family stay with us again soon.

Cordially,
Cheryl Prosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel itself was very nice, clean, and staff was friendly. However, the breakfast was among the poorest I have encountered in similar hotels. There was no hot oatmeal, yogert, or even bananas. If you stay, plan to have breakfast at a Cracker Barrel or other similar restaurant, since you will not enjoy the Comfort Inn breakfast here. It is strange, since other Comfort Inns that I have stayed at had very acceptable breakfasts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear mhonig: Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very pleased that you found our hotel nice and clean, staff friendly, and that you enjoyed your stay. I do want to apologize for the breakfast and that you did not find it up to standards. We always have our breakfast buffet fully stocked from 6am to 9:30am. On occasion we do run out of certain items and re-order as quickly as possible so that our valued guests can have a full breakfast. I am sorry that you were disappointed in the breakfast area. I invite you to come stay with us again for an even better experience, not only for breakfast but for an all around good stay.

Cordially,
Cheryl Prosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke pines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As this hotel is my normal stop during the holidays i did again stay here on the 27th of Dec. My family and I checked in around 7pm and the room as always was perfect we stayed in room 403.

As my son was staying with us this time around we discovered we needed a few more blankets.
i called the front desk and asked the lady for some blankets and she responded "well how many blankets do you need" so i said 3. she said " THREE...(short pause)... well we dont have anymore blankets" being a little stunned i said ok..

Being a little confused i immediatly called the room service number and the front desk answered again and i told her i was trying to get the xtra blankets from room service and she said they were gone for the day and she went back there and their was non somebody must have took them all and than hung up the phone.. Than to add insult to injury the next morning i asked her for a stay recipt and she i cant give you one... than turned around and continued to talk to her friend.. i said excuse me to get her attention again and asked why not.. she said "because you didnt book thru us you used a 3rd party so i cant give you anything" than turned around and continued talking to her friend...

Iv never seen this person before in all of my stays at the hotel but she gave me the impression on 2 occasions with dealing with her she really didnt have the time to deal with me even tho i wasnt being overly demanding i thought my requests were within the normal bounds of being a guest... Oh well she must have had a bad day...

Now let me tell you the front desk clerk wasnt very nice but i didnt let it ruin my stay at this great hotel. clean, spacious room, nice friendly personal (with the exception of the front desk clerk this time) i did talk to several other hotel personal and they were all very friendly and helpful and they have a great breakfast in the morning... I will be traveling to NC in the spring and will stay there again and i would highly recommend it to you..

One more thing if you do go there across the way is the MILLHOUSE Restaurant its a bit pricey for me lol) but i promise you the largest cut, best tasting steak and service you'll ever get..

Room Tip: I always like the 1st floor but this hotel you can go wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Roy G: Thank you for reviewing our hotel and giving us a great review. I sincerely apologize to you and your family regarding the extra blankets. At times we do run out of blankets, especially if we have a full hotel, but again we should have been explained this to you and your family. As far as a receipt for your stay, again I apologize to you, and if you did book through a third party and not through Choice or directly with our hotel, there would not be a receipt to be given, but I agree it could have been handled a little bit differently. To you and your family I do again apologize. I am very happy that your stay was still everything you knew it could be and we would love to have you come stay with us again. I am happy also that your room met all of your
expectations and more. Please, on your way through Brunswick, GA , stop back and stay with us for an even better experience. With your review, that is what makes us correct any mistakes or mishaps that may have happened. Once again, we appreciate your comments and concerns and invite you back for an even better experience.

Cordially,
Cheryl Prosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappahannock
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We started going to this hotel about 5 or 6 years ago when we needed a spot to sleep for a few hours on the way to Disney World. We always get to the hotel at midnight or later and have always found our rooms to be comfortable and clean and to be a really good value. In fact, we've always kind of wished we could spend time there and explore the area. This year, we made that happen. We left our home a day early for a trip to Tampa Bay and we arrived at the hotel at something like 3 in the afternoon. We checked in and then explored the Brunswick waterfront and walked all around.

The room was, once again, clean and comfortable and the hotel is very close to tons of restaurants and shopping. Plus, the hotel is right off of 95.

The breakfast is the usual deal for a decent hotel, and it meets our needs very well.

This is not a $300 per night hotel, but for a good stay at a moderate price, it is a good value.

One day, this place may slip and we may not have a great experience, but we've not had a problem yet and we find this place to be convenient, clean, comfortable, safe and well located.

We'll keep going back until management slips, but they seem to have been getting it right for years now.

Kudos to the management and staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS-Golden_Isles-GM, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We are so glad that you keep coming back and every time find us excellent for the money. We are proud that we are rated #1 in Brunswick, and have many repeat guests. A big HOORAY for the management and the staff for such an excellent job.

Please come back to stay with us again and again. We look forward to your return.

Many thanks,
Velma Meredith,
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick

Address: 220 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Brunswick
#7 Family Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for spacious and inviting accommodations near the Golden Isles of Georgia, then the Comfort Suites® Golden Isles Gateway hotel is perfect place to stay during your next family vacation or business trip. Popular island destinations like St. Simons Island, Little St. Simons Island, Sea Island and Jekyll Island are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Hotel Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.