We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of history in a peaceful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brunswick Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brunswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brunswick Manor
825 Egmont Street, Brunswick, GA 31520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Brunswick B&B and Inns
Northern California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A bit of history in a peaceful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wanting to avoid the I-95 cookie cutter motels and the overpriced island hotels, we opted to spend a night here on a coastal Georgia trip. Brunswick is a pretty, sleepy little town close to St. Simons Island and Jekyll Island. Like many small towns in America, the downtown is losing business to the malls and big boxes located in the suburbs and off the freeway. However, it is still a pleasant small town with lovely restored homes from the 1800s. Brunswick Manor is one of those restored with attention to historical details and photos from the period.

We were the only guests and enjoyed sitting on the huge veranda sipping wine, listening to the birds and enjoying the attention of Meatball and Henry, the resident cats. The owners have an additional catering and meeting business, so hosting duties fall to Rusty, an experienced hospitality professional who also serves as breakfast chef. Rusty is gracious and informative about the community and the region. He also recommended Basil's for dinner, a surprisingly good choice for a small town.

We stayed in the Downing Suite which is a little on the dark side with dark wood furnishings and almost cluttered with memoriablia and historical odds and ends. If we were to return, we would opt for the Sea Island Suite or the Cumberland Suite, also on the second floor, but much brighter, lighter and airier and not so much "stuff" in the rooms.

All in all, would definitely recommend a stay here if you enjoy B&Bs with a historical flavor.

Room Tip: As noted, Sea Island and Cumberland appear to be brighter and lighter.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
105
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I enjoyed staying here for a business trip. I had a lot of appointments in the county courthouse and city buildings and found this to be very close to both those and the downtown. Rusty was very helpful and friendly with good advice on places to eat out. It was nice to sit on the huge front porch and relax in the swing when work was done. The house itself is an architectural treasure that has been very well maintained and furnished with interesting period furniture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Brunswick Manor is a beautiful house filled with old world charm. It was perfect for a rest and relaxation weekend getaway. The host was very welcoming and made us feel comfortable for our stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

took the 2 room first floor suite... great furnishings, lovely wine to enjoy with other guests. Only problem we found was breakfast left much to be desired. couldn't eat the egg dish, tasted like it had pepperoni in it. would have enjoyed some toast with jam...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here on the second last night of our trip up from from Florida with its boring modern hotel chains. So glad we stumbled on Brunswick Manor on the internet. A charming old house, faithfully restored and stocked absolutely full of top quality and very tasteful furnishings and memorabilia. Add to that an excellent breakfast served on gold edged china in the baronial dining room and the helpful attentions of Rusty, our very gracious host and it was certainly an experience to remember and to tell all our friends about. Thanks Rusty!. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh,nc
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After seeing this place on the Travel Channel under extreme Christmas, I knew we had to stay there to see all of the ornaments and the gorgeous decorations.
I was very very pleased that we were able to book a one night stay, because my husband and I are more of the hotel sort. The decorations at Christmas did not dissapoint and the manor was decorated beautifully. We met some other lovely couples spending the night and all sat around the Christmas tree just enjoying the ornaments and taking pictures and talking.
Our room was quite lovely. We didn't find our bed comfortable but then again I have never stayed at a B&B that had a comfortable bed.
The complementary breakfast the following morning in the gorgeous dining room was quite nice.
We left and were very pleased we had added this to our vacation plans.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we had a chance to peak into seemed absolutely lovely. I don't think you can go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed one night at the Brunswick Manor after a day at the Okefenokee Swamp. Rusty was a superb host who gave us a great recommendation for dinner, opened the complimentary wine bar for us, and made us feel right at home. His pecan pancakes were delicious and elegantly served. Since we happened to be the only guests that night, he gave us the grand tour of the house patiently answering all of our questions about its eclectic furnishings and historical significance in the community. We'll definitely be back for a longer stay!

Room Tip: We had the 2-room suite on the ground floor which was a great value for our 1 couple/1 single group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brunswick Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Manor

Address: 825 Egmont Street, Brunswick, GA 31520
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Brunswick Manor Hotel Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunswick Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brunswick Manor to your Saves list