We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant way to spend an afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ridge Scenic Railway

Blue Ridge Scenic Railway
241 Depot Street, Blue Ridge, GA 30531
800-934-1898
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 attractions in Blue Ridge
Type: Scenic Railroads
Attraction Details
Blackwood, Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Pleasant way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ok, it's not cheap and there are a lot of trees but, chill, enjoy the ride and the slow pace! Our guide Lyn was very informative and, to be fair, so many people changed sides on the way back, there were empty spaces on our return, The seats were comfortable and it was lovely to feel the fresh air. There's not a lot to see in Mcaysville but we had a nice salad in a cafe and a lovely chat with the girls in the fudge shop. All in all, a pleasant day out and I'm glad we went.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    101
    52
    29
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Scenic Train Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's a nice and reasonably priced little train ride from Blue Ridge to two small towns right on the Tennessee/North Carolina border. The train passes through woods and very near to the river, and offers some very impressive views. The train stop in the two towns lasts about two hours, and then it returns to Blue Ridge.

The two towns have a few shops, and a very neat '50s themed diner with tables overlooking the river, but they could use a little more in the way of food options and places to shop.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Blue Ridge Scenic Railway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The train was a bit loud and only one side really has a view. I thought it was a bit pricey but still a good time. We arrived at the GA/TN line. We viisted nice little antique shops and then picked a restuarant to have lunch. We chose Mexican on the Copper Hill, TN side of the street. I was surprised when the server informed me that we were in a dry county so if you want a beer you are fine if you want a glass of wine, stay in Georgia.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young Harris, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Christmas Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

An enjoyable outing with the grandchildren...Santa joined us on the train and a Christmas story was read about the train. Nice memory.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Had a blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Took all our grandkids one year.... Lots of fun.... not much at the destination but we had packed a picnic lunch so it was OK..... A walk around Blue Ridge is a must before or after the trip, though....

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ridge Scenic Railway also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ridge Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ridge Scenic Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Ridge Scenic Railway to your Saves list